clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


For the first time in its history, the Salt Lake chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners will have two Women Business Owners of the Year for 1996.

Georgia Ball of the Ramsay Group and Sandra Uyemura Strong of Strong Financial Consulting were voted the two top women business owners by the professional organization.They were selected for a number of reasons, but especially for leadership skills they have demonstrated both in their work and the community.

"This year we had two women who have done exceedingly well," said Jean Martin, outgoing NAWBO president. "The decision is made by a vote of the membership and whoever gets the most votes wins. This came out a tie and we decided to honor them both.

"It's very prestigious within our group and the community at large," Martin said. "Past winners have said how much it has meant to them and their businesses."

Strong has received from the American College a Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) designation, Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) and Certificate in Pensions and Executive Com-pen-sa-tion.

She heads committees in the American Society of CLU and ChFCs and is active in the National Association of Underwriters.

Strong is active in the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce Business Women's Forum, is a co-founder of the Executive Women's Golf League, and served with Big Brothers/Big Sisters from 1984-90.

Ball has been an active real estate agent since 1972. She was named Realtor of the Year by the Salt Lake Board of Realtors, served on that group's board of directors and received its Superior Achievement Award.

Ball is president-elect of the Utah Association of Realtors, has served as an association instructor in agency and mediation matters, and served on both state and national association task forces.

She also is on the board of the American Arbitration Association, serves on the University of Utah National Advisory Board for the David Eccles School of Business, has taught at the U. and is a board member of the Coalition for Utah's Future/Project 2000.

Previous local NAWBO honorees include June Morris, Jackie Nichols, Lorraine Miller, Shirley Backels, Kathy Sorensen, Marilyn Tang, Karin Kane, Ramona Rudert and Maxine Turner.

Ball and Strong will be honored at the June 12 membership meeting at Memorial House, Memorial Grove in City Creek Canyon. The meeting starts at 6 p.m. with dinner at 6:30. The cost is $25 for members; $30 for guests. Make reservations by calling 579-8399.