Facebook Twitter



MISSION HILLS JUNIOR: Boyd Summerhays of Farmington is in a three-way tie for second following Wednesday's second round of the Nabisco Mission Hills Desert Junior golf tournament.

Summerhays shot a second-round 72, giving his a 143 total for the two days. He trails Brian Nosler of Lake Oswego, Ore., by a single stroke and is tied for second with Michael Beard of Palm Desert, Calif., and Jim Park of Fullerton, Calif.

Derek Fox of Henefer, Utah, is in 45th place at 156 with rounds of 81 and 77, and Zac Jacob of Murray is 55th at 166 following a pair of 83s.

WOMEN'S PUBLINX: Jamie Stevenson of Mayfield, Utah, was tied for 25th with an opening-round score of 76 Wednesday in stroke-play qualifying of the 1996 Women's Amateur Public Links Championship at Alton, Ill. Trisha Grier of Homestead, Fla., leads with a 69.

WENDY'S OPEN: Jeff Green broke the Park City Golf Club course record with an 8-under-par 64 to take the lead following Wednesday's opening round of the Wendy's Open.

Green, the head pro at Stansbury Park Golf Course, had shared the previous record with Bruce Summerhays, Bob Betley and Steve Schneiter. He shot 32s on the front and back nines - including seven birdies and an eagle along the first 13 holes - to take a two-stroke lead over pro Milan Swilor and Utah State golfer Casey Beck.

Spence Ahrend and Jimmy Blair are tied for fourth at 67.


NHL AWARDS: Mario Lemieux capped his inspirational return to the Pittsburgh Penguins by winning the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player for the third time.

Lemieux, who missed the 1994-95 season to rest an ailing back and to recover from the chemotherapy for Hodgkin's disease, led the league in scoring with 69 goals and 92 assists. Earlier, he won the Lester B. Pearson award as the most outstanding player as selected by his peers.

Also winning were: Chris Chelios of Chicago, Norris (best defenseman); Daniel Alfredsson of Ottawa, Calder (best rookie); Jim Carey of Washington, Vezina (best goalie); Sergei Fedorov of Detroit, Frank J. Selke (best defensive forward); Paul Kariya of Anaheim, Lady Byng (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct); and Scotty Bowman of Detroit, Jack Adams (best coach).

Boston defenseman Ray Bourque was selected to the NHL's first all-star team for the 12th time, tying Gordie Howe's record. Lemieux was selected at center, teammate Jaromir Jagr at right wing, Kariya at left wing, Chelios on defense and Carey in goal.


WIMBLEDON WITHDRAWLS: Jennifer Capriati, three years away from the tour and ranked 104th in the world, withdrew from Wimbledon, citing lack of preparation.

Capriati, 20, reached the 1991 semifinals, but hasn't played in the Grand Slam event since 1993. She rejoined the circuit earlier this year after two stints in drug rehabilitation.

Meanwhile, Thomas Muster pulled out of Wimbledon as well, citing a thigh injury. Muster, the world's second-ranked player and the best on clay, complained this week about being seeded No. 7 at the Grand Slam grass-court event which begins Monday.

EASTBOURNE: Top-seeded Monica Seles, playing on grass for the first time in four years, beat Meredith McGrath 6-2, 6-4 to reach the quarterfinals of the Wimbledon warmup tournament at Eastbourne, England.

WEBER OPEN: Second-seeded Yevgeny Kafelnikov and third-seeded Jim Courier, tuning up for Wimbledon, won matches in the Gerry Weber Open at Halle, Germany.

Kafelnikov, the French Open champion, beat Byron Black 6-3, 6-4 in a second-round match. Courier routed Adrian Voinea 6-2, 6-2 in the first round.

NOTTINGHAM OPEN: Fifth-seeded Jan Siemerink beat Marc Goellner 2-6, 7-6 (8-6), 6-3 to advance to the quarterfinals of the Nottingham Open at Nottingham, England.

CARISBO INTERNATIONAL: Second-seeded Francisco Clavet beat Christian Ruud 6-4, 6-2 in the second round of the Carisbo International at Bologna, Italy.

WILKINSON CHAMPIONSHIPS: Top-seeded Iva Majoli beat Amelie Mauresmo 6-4, 6-2 to advance to the quarterfinals at Rosmalen, Netherlands.


WILD-CARD SELECTIONS: U.S. national team members Alexi Lalas, Kasey Keller and Claudio Reyna were chosen for the U.S. men's Olympic soccer team as the wild-card players not subject to FIFA's under-23 age restriction.