clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Program to honor health pioneers

Seven early Utah health-care pioneers will be honored by the Utah Association of Healthcare Providers during a dinner on Wednesday, Oct. 22, in Little America Hotel, according to Rick Kinnersley, UAHP president.

"We owe a debt of gratitude to these seven, and many others also, for their outstanding efforts that have benefited Utahns today. Utah continues to be listed as one of the America's healthiest states," said Kinnersley.Scheduled to be honored are Daniel S. Tuttle, former Episcopal bishop of Utah, whose congregation established St. Mark's Hospital in 1872; Catholic Bishop Lawrence Scanlan, who asked the Sisters of the Congregation of the Holy Cross to organize Holy Cross Hospital in 1875; Dr. Martha Hughes Cannon, who is credited with developing Utah's sanitation laws and establishing the State Board of Health.

Others are Annie Taylor Dee, who broke ground on a hospital in 1909, and her family has been involved in health care since; Dr. William H. Groves, a Salt Lake dentist who donated a large amount of money to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to construct the Williams Groves LDS Hospital in 1903; Dr. Ellis Reynolds Shipp, one of the first practicing obstetric physicians in Utah; and Ralph V. Chamberlin, a University of Utah biology professor who advanced the medical training in 1905 into a medical course that later became the U.'s School of Medicine.