Mayor Robert Thurgood retained the top office in Syracuse with 695 votes over challenger and veteran City Councilman Alvin Nance's 531 votes.

Thurgood was appointed mayor last spring after the former mayor resigned and moved.Four political newcomers sought two seats on the City Council. David R. Benard won a seat on the council with 709 votes as did Jon Jepperson with 579 votes. Also running in the council race were Theron Leishman, who got 553 votes, and Leo D. Miller, who got 549 votes. Another City Council member, Kaye Volk, did not seek re-election.