clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utah puts 2 first-teamers on women's All-WAC squad

The top two women's teams in both the Pacific Division and the Mountain Division dominated the all-Western Athletic Conference teams selected by head coaches, the conference announced Friday.

Hawaii and Rice, which finished one-two in the Pacific Division, each placed two players on the first team, while Utah and Colorado State, co-champions of the Mountain Division, also each had two first-team selections.Hawaii's Nani Cockett was named Player of the Year in the Pacific Division while Colorado State's Becky Hammon is the Player of the Year in the Mountain Division. Both are guards.

Freshmen of the Year honors went to Texas Christian's Jill Sutton in the Pacific and Colorado State's Heather Haanen in the Mountain.

Hawaii's Vince Goo earned Coach of the Year honors in the Pacific Division while Utah's Elaine Elliott and Texas-El Paso's Sandra Rushing were selected co-Coaches of the Year in the Mountain Division.

Joining Cockett on the Pacific Division's first team were teammate Kylie Page; Marla Brumfield and Kirra Jordan of Rice and Karlin Kennedy of Southern Methodist.

Utah's Alli Bills and Julie Krommenhoek were joined by Hammon and Katie Cronin of CSU along with Abby Garchek of New Mexico on the Mountain Division's first team.

The 1998 Qwest WAC Tournament will be held in Las Vegas next week with the championship game set for March 7.