Facebook Twitter

News replaces textbooks for a day

SHARE News replaces textbooks for a day

Thousands of students across Utah are learning with today's Deseret News. More than 64,000 copies of the newspaper will be used in place of textbooks for No Books Day Wednesday, March 4, in celebration of national Newspaper in Education Month.

Newspapers are being used in private, parochial and home schools, a university and in all 40 Utah school districts, a total of more than 400 schools. In addition, a number of schools will celebrate No Books Day at a later date. In 70 schools (listed in italics), all students are learning from the newspaper.Alpine - Elementary schools: Alpine, Cherry Hill, Geneva, Grovecrest, Highland, Hillcrest, Legacy, Lindon, Manila, Orem, Rocky Mountain, Sego Lily, Sharon, Valley View; Mountain Ridge Junior High; high schools: Lehi, Orem, Pleasant Grove.

Beaver - Elementary schools: Belknap, Milford, Minersville; Beaver High School.

Box Elder - Elementary schools: Bear River, Discovery, Fielding, Lake View, McKinley, Mountain View; North Park; Harris Intermediate School; high schools: Bear River, Box Elder.

Cache - Elementary schools: Summit, Wellsville; middle schools: North Cache, Spring Creek.

Carbon - Elementary schools: Creekview, Petersen, Wellington.

Daggett - Manila Elementary.

Davis - Elementary schools: Adams, Adelaide, Antelope, Boulton, Bountiful, Burton, Centerville, Clinton, Cook, Crestview, Doxey, Farmington, Fremont, Holbrook, Kaysville, King, Knowlton, Meadowbrook, Monte Vista, Morgan, Mountain View, Muir, Oak Hills, Orchard, Reading, Stewart, Sunset, Syracuse, Taylor, Valley View, Wasatch, Washington, West Bountiful, West Point, Whitesides, Windridge, Woods Cross; junior highs: Bountiful, Centerville, Fairfield, Kaysville, South Davis, Sunset, Syracuse; high schools: Bountiful, Clearfield, Davis, Mountain, Woods Cross.

Duchesne - Elementary schools: Altamont, Duchesne, East, Myton, Neola; Roosevelt Middle School; high schools: Altamont, Union.

Emery - Elementary schools: Book Cliff, Castle Dale, Cleveland, Cottonwood, Ferron, Huntington.

Garfield - Elementary schools: Boulder, Bryce Valley; Escalante High School.

Grand - Red Rock Elementary; Knight Intermediate School.

Granite - Elementary schools: Academy Park, Arcadia, Bacchus, Bennion, Bridger, Canyon Rim, Copper Hills, Cottonwood, Crestview, Driggs, Eastwood, Libbie Edward, Farnsworth, Fox Hills, Fremont, Frost, Gourley, Granger, Hill View, Hillsdale, Hillside, Holladay, Jackling, Lincoln, Magna, Mill Creek, Monroe, Moss, Oakridge, Oakwood, Oquirrh Hills, Orchard, Penn, Pioneer, Pleasant Green, Plymouth, Redwood, Roosevelt, Silver Hills, Smith, South Kearns, Stansbury, Taylorsville, Truman, Twin Peaks, Upland Terrace, Valley Crest, Vista, West Kearns, Westbrook, Whittier, Wilson, Woodstock; junior highs: Bennion, Bonneville, Brockbank, Eisenhower, Evergreen, Granite Park, Hunter, Jefferson, Kearns, Kennedy, Olympus, Valley, Wasatch, West Lake; high schools: Cottonwood, Central, Granger, Granite, Hunter, Kearns, Skyline; First Step, Salt Lake Valley Detention Center, Young Parents- West.

Iron - Cedar City Middle.

Jordan - Elementary schools: Alta View, Altara, Bell View, Bella Vista, Bluffdale, Brookwood, Butler, Canyon View, Colombia, Copperview, Cottonwood Heights, Crescent, Draper, East Midvale, East Sandy, Edgemont, Granite, Heartland, Jordan Ridge, Lone Peak, Majestic, Midvale, Midvalley, Monte Vista, Mountain Shadows, Mountview, Oakdale, Peruvian Park, Quail Hollow, Riverside, Riverton, Rosamond, Silver Mesa, South Jordan, Southland, Spruce-wood, Sunrise, Terra Linda, Welby, West Jordan, Westland, Westvale, Willow Canyon; middle schools: Butler, Crescent View, Elk Ridge, Jensen, Oquirrh Hills, South Jordan, Union, West Hills, West Jordan; high schools: Alta, Bingham, Brighton, Copper Hills, Hillcrest, Jordan, Jordan Technical Center, West Jordan.

Juab - Juab Middle School; Juab High School.

Kane - Kanab Elementary, Kanab Middle School.

Logan - Elementary schools: Ellis, Wilson, Woodruff.

Millard - Elementary schools: Delta North, Delta South, Fillmore.

Morgan - Morgan Middle School.

Murray - Elementary schools: Horizon, Liberty, McMillan, Parkside, Viewmont; junior highs: Hillcrest, Riverview; high schools: Creekside, Murray.

Nebo - Elementary schools: Barnett, Brook-side, Grant, Larsen, Mapleton, Mt. Loafer, Sage Creek, Wilson; middle schools: Spanish Fork, Springville; Payson Junior High; high schools: Payson, Spanish Fork.

North Sanpete - Elementary schools: Fairview, Fountain Green, Mt. Pleasant, Moroni, Spring City; North Sanpete Middle School.

North Summit - North Summit Elementary; North Summit Middle School.

Ogden - Smith Elementary; Observation and Assessment Center.

Park City - Parley's Park Elementary; Treasure Mountain Middle School.

Piute - Elementary schools: Circleville, Oscarson; Piute High School.

Provo - Elementary schools: Canyon Crest, Franklin, Grandview, Joaquin, Maeser, Mountain Brook, Provost, Rock Canyon, Westridge; East-wood High School.

Rich - Elementary schools: North Rich, South Rich.

Salt Lake City - Elementary schools: Beacon Heights, Bennion, Bonneville, Edison, Garfield, Highland Park, Indian Hills, Jackson, Lincoln, Lowell, Meadowlark, Mountain View, Newman, Nibley Park, Parkview, Poplar Grove, Rosslyn Heights, Uintah, Washington, Whittier; middle schools: Bryant, Hillside, Northwest; high schools: East, Highland, West; Guadalupe School, Horizonte Instruction Center.

San Juan - Elementary schools: Blanding, Montezuma Creek, Monticello; Albert R. Lyman Middle School; San Juan High School.

Sevier - Monroe Elementary; middle schools: Red Hills, South Sevier.

South Sanpete - Elementary schools: Ephraim, Manti; Ephraim Middle School; Manti High School.

South Summit - South Summit Elementary;

Tintic - Eureka Elementary.

Tooele - Elementary schools: East, Grants-ville, Harris, Northlake, Stansbury, West; Tooele Junior High; high schools: Tooele, Tooele Valley.

Uintah - Elementary schools: Ashley, Davis, Discovery, Lapoint, Maeser, Todd; Vernal Middle School; Vernal Junior High; Ashley Valley Demonstration Center.

Wasatch - Elementary schools: Heber Valley, Smith; Wasatch High School.

Washington - Elementary schools: Bloomington Hills, Coral Cliffs, Diamond Valley, LaVerkin; Snow Canyon Middle School; Dixie High School.

Wayne - Loa Elementary; Wayne Middle School; Wayne High School.

Weber - Elementary schools: Bates, Club Heights, Green Acres, Kanesville, Lake View, Lomond View, Municipal, Roosevelt, Valley; junior highs: Roy, Rocky Mountain, Sand Ridge, Snowcrest; Fremont High School; Canyon View School.

Others - Benchmark South School, Carden Memorial School, Cosgriff Memorial, Family Preservation Institute, Grace Lutheran School, Helquist Academy, Layton Christian Academy, Montessori School of Salt Lake, Mount Vernon Academy, Murray School District, Our Lady of Lourdes, Primary Children's Medical Center Inpatient School, Redeemer Lutheran, Salt Lake County Shelter School, Southern Utah University, Uintah Technology Education Center, Utah Boys Ranch, Weber Valley Detention Center.