Facebook Twitter

Association of bankers elects new chairman

SHARE Association of bankers elects new chairman

J. Gregg Miller, president of Cache Valley Bank in Logan, was elected chairman of the Utah Bankers Association Wednesday as the trade association wrapped up its 90th annual convention here.

Miller succeeds outgoing UBA chairman Robert A. Hatch of First Security Bank as head of the industry group for 1998-99. Hatch becomes immediate past chairman and will remain on the UBA board of directors for one more year.Miller began his banking career with Idaho First National Bank and has been president of Cache Valley Bank for six years. He has an MBA from Brigham Young University and is a graduate of the Pacific Coast Banking School. He has served as chairman of the Cache Chamber of Commerce and on the boards of the United Way and Logan City School Foundation.

Curtis H. Harris, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Barnes Banking Co. in Kaysville, was elected UBA vice chairman.

Harris graduated from Weber State University and the Pacific Coast Banking School. He is chairman of Pacific Bankers Management Institute, the holding company for Pacific Coast Banking School, and is president of the Western Independent Bankers Association.

New directors elected to serve on the UBA board are:

Hal J. Allen, chairman and president of Orem Community Bank, Orem.

Robert P. Aravich Jr., vice president and manager of business banking for U.S. Bank's northern Utah region.

Robert M. Daugherty, chairman, president and CEO of Draper Bank & Trust.

C. Lynn Barney, senior vice president and manager of the retail banking division for Key Bank, Salt Lake City.

Martin W. Newton, regional vice president, Wells Fargo Bank, Salt Lake City.

J. Larry Richards, president and CEO of Advanta Bank Corp, Salt Lake City.

Steven R. Sala, vice president and manager of private banking for Bank One Utah, Salt Lake City.

Brad L. Weber, regional vice president of the northern Utah region of Washington Mutual.

Four other Utah bankers - Danne Buchanan, Douglas L. DeFries, David E. Poulsen and Craig A. White - continue to serve terms on the UBA board.