CORY: here is the credit info: Photographs by M. Ray Longhurst; Portraits by Larry Winborg (courtesy LDS Church)

Feb. 4 is the 153rd anniversary of the departure of the first wagon in the great exodus of Latter-day Saints from Nauvoo, Ill., to the West. Among them were five future presidents of the Church, including Brigham Young, under whose leadership the Quorum of the Twelve conducted the trek to the valley of the Great Salt Lake.This spring marks 160 years since the Prophet Joseph Smith founded Nauvoo as a place of refuge for the Saints on a horseshoe bend of the Mississippi River bordering the Iowa Territory. The mosquito-infested swamp land was soon converted into a "beautiful place" as the word Nauvoo signifies. It would prove a testing ground for the faith and resolve of those early Church members.

No sooner did the trials of those early days turn into prosperity, but the persecutions and tribulations returned. Out of the forge of those "Nauvoo days" came the five prophets who would succeed Joseph Smith: Brigham Young, John Taylor, Wilford Woodruff, Lorenzo Snow and Joseph F. Smith.

Featured on these pages are current winter views of the Nauvoo sites where Joseph Smith and each future Church president lived, together with portrait of each president respectively. In all but one case, the homes where they dwelled have been restored for visitors to see.

Joseph Smith Homestead: Part of the first piece of land purchased by Joseph Smith in 1839. Joseph and his family lived here until the Mansion House was completed in 1843. Joseph, Emma, Hyrum and several other family members are buried in a small cemetery near the home. Joseph was born Dec. 23, 1805.

Mansion House: Started in 1841 as a hotel for visitors, it also served as a home for the family of Joseph Smith. After the martyrdom, Emma kept the Mansion House as a hotel for many years.

Brigham Young home: The second president of the Church built this home and moved into it the day before his birthday in 1843. He left his home less than three years later with a firm determination to build again in the West, where the Latter-day Saints could live their religion in peace. Born June 1, 1801, he was 45 years old at the time of the exodus.

John Taylor home: The third president of the Church, born Nov. 1, 1808, was a well-educated English gentleman and became a traveling preacher at age 17. He brought a polished literary style to his work as editor of the Times and Seasons and the Nauvoo Neighbor. At the time of the exodus from Nauvoo, he was 37 years old.

Wilford Woodruff home: The Woodruff home was one of the best preserved in Nauvoo. The fourth president of the Church worked hard to build this house but spent less than 70 days in it before he joined the great exodus at the age of 39 years. He was born March 1, 1807.

Lorenzo Snow: The fifth president of the Church never owned a house while living in Nauvoo. However, his cousin, Laura (or Lucy) Snow Scovil invited him to board with her for $1.50 a month. He was born April 3, 1814, and at the exodus, was 31 years old.

Joseph F. Smith: Hyrum and Mary Fielding Smith lived on this property between the William Marks home and the Times and Seasons building at the northeast section of Water and Bain streets. Joseph Fielding Smith, the sixth Church president, was only 5 1/2 years old when his father was murdered. He never forgot the sorrow of that day, nor the memory of the lifeless faces of his father and uncle. At age 7, he was given a great deal of responsibility in helping his mother reach the Great Salt Lake Valley. He was born Nov. 13, 1838.