clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

BYU announces Utah recipients of Hinckley stipends

PROVO -- The director of scholarships at Brigham Young University has announced the Utah recipients of the 1999-2000 Gordon B. Hinckley Scholarships.

"To be selected as a Hinckley scholar is a great accomplishment, and to be recognized as a Hinckley scholarship finalist is a significant achievement in itself," said Sue DeMartini, director of scholarships at BYU.The scholarship, the university's top academic award, is named after the president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, BYU's sponsoring organization.

The 1999 female recipients from Utah are Kristen Byrd of Highland; Katie Gibson of Sunset; Tricia Harris of Provo; Holly Hubbard of West Jordan; L. Rachel Jensen of Alpine; and Blaire Mattson of Ogden.

The 1999 male recipients from Utah are Stephen Biggs of Sandy; Kenneth Call of Syracuse; Samuel Dastrup of Orem; Michael Ebert of Woodland Hills; David Hansen of Roy; Malachi Johnson of Kaysville; and Matthew Sederberg of Orem.

The eight-semester scholarship was awarded to a total of 25 women and 25 men selected from 100 finalists and more than 300 qualified applicants from all over the United States and the world.

The 100 Hinckley Scholarship finalists were selected from the top five percent of entering freshmen based on academic indicators.

Scholarship applicants were judged in five areas: religious commitment, character, academic excellence, passion for life, service to others and unusual talents and gifts.