Facebook Twitter

Pro Golf at a glance

SHARE Pro Golf at a glance


John Deere Classic

Site: Silvi, Ill.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: TPC at Deere Run (7,105 yards, par 71).

Purse: $2.6 million.

Winner's share: $468,000.

Television: The Golf Channel and Fox Sports Net (1:30-4 p.m.) and CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 1-4 p.m.)

Last year: J.L. Lewis won his first PGA Tour title, Lewis beat Mike Brisky on the fifth hole of a playoff.

Tour notes: D.A. Weibring, who has won the event three times (1979, 1991, 1995), has finished in the top-10 eight times overall.


Giant Eagle LPGA Classic

Site: Warren, Ohio.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Avalon Lakes (6,308 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1 million.

Winner's share: $150,000.

Television: ESPN2 (Friday, 11:30-1 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-3 p.m.; Sunday, 1-3 p.m.)

Last year: Jackie Gallagher-Smith won by five strokes over four players. Gallagher-Smith shot a tournament record 17-under-par 199.

Tournotes: With last week's victory, Karrie Webb has the points needed to qualify for the Hall of Fame. With 27 points, three major championship titles, two Vare trophies for lowest scoring average and one player of the year award, all she needs is 10 years on the LPGA Tour. She will be eligible for induction after the 2005 season.


Long Island Classic

Site: Jericho, N.Y.

Schedule: Friday-Sunday.

Course: Meadow Brook Club (6,842 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.5 million.

Winner's share: $225,000.

Television: ESPN (Friday, noon-2 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-2 p.m.; Sunday, 3:30-5 p.m., tape).

Last year: Bruce Fleisher won his fifth of seven titles last season, by two strokes over Allen Doyle.

Tour notes: Ray Floyd is the only player to win a PGA and Senior PGA Tour event on Long Island.


Dakota Dunes Open

Site: Dakota Dunes, S.D.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Dakota Dunes CC (7,165 yards, par 72).

Purse: $500,000.

Winner's share: $90,000.

Television: None.

Last year: Fran Quinn defeated Ryan Howison and Craig Kanada on the first hole of a playoff.

Tour notes: Rocky Walcher set the course record of 61 during the second round in 1997.