Facebook Twitter

Sum 41’s ‘No Filler’ a punk’s paradise

SHARE Sum 41’s ‘No Filler’ a punk’s paradise

SUM 41; "All Killer No Filler" (Island)***

Editor's note: Sum 41 will perform in the Horticultural Center at Utah State Fairpark on Wednesday, Jan. 16, 7:30 p.m. Unwritten Law and Gob will open the show. Tickets will be available at the door.

Sum 41 follows its upper-cut debut "Half Hour of Power" extended play with a one-two punch.

"All Killer No Filler," which was released a few months ago, brings the bratty Canadian punk quartet — guitarist/vocalist Deryck "Bizzy D" Whibley, guitarist/vocalist Dave "Brownsound" Basksh, bassist Cone McCaslin and drummer Steve "Stevo32" Jocz — into the spotlight.

"Introduction to Destruction," which opens the album, is a smirking slam on Mötley Crüe's "In the Beginning," which opened the Crüe's 1983 album "Shout at the Devil." From there, the album just gets better.

Powerchords galore on "Nothing on My Back" and the smart-aleck speed-drive of the 50-second ditty "Never Wake Up" are the perfect foil for the rap-punk chop of "Fat Lip." Then, the hyper slam of "Rhythms" and "Motivation," and the pop touches on "In Too Deep," make way for the bouncy "Summer," the grinding "Handle This" and the serenity-challenged "Crazy Amanda Bunkface."

Of the album's 13 cuts, only three are longer than three minutes, and that's exactly how melodic punk should be; otherwise it would lose its edge.

Oh, yeah. Another metal parody is the climactic "Pain for Pleasure," which takes a vicious swipe at post ". . . And Justice for All" Metallica.

E-MAIL: scott@desnews.com