Facebook Twitter

Favre to start ahead of Warner

SHARE Favre to start ahead of Warner

NEW YORK — Brett Favre will start at quarterback ahead of Most Valuable Player Kurt Warner for the NFC at the Pro Bowl game Feb. 9 in Honolulu.

Favre, of the Green Bay Packers, and Rich Gannon of Oakland are the starting quarterbacks, and sack king Michael Strahan and Curtis Martin, who eclipsed 1,000 yards rushing for the seventh straight season, are among the other starters announced Saturday.

Strahan, whose 22 1/2 sacks for the New York Giants set a league record, heads the NFC defense. Martin, who ran for 1,513 yards for the New York Jets, will start for the AFC ahead of Priest Holmes.

Other starters on offense for the NFC include Bubba Franks, Marshall Faulk ,Mike Alstott, David Boston and Terrell Owens.

Gannon and Martin are joined on the AFC offensive team by Marvin Harrison and Rod Smith, tight end Tony Gonzalez and fullback Larry Centers .

Joining Strahan on the NFC defensive squad are Hugh Douglas, Brian Dawkins, Warren Sapp, Derrick Brooks, Ronde Barber, La'Roi Glover, Sammy Knight, Brian Urlacher, Aeneas Williams and LaVar Arrington.

The starting AFC defenders are Ray Lewis, Rod Woodson, Marcellus Wiley, Rodney Harrison, Sam Madison, Charles Woodson, John Abraham, Trevor Pryce, John Randle, Jason Gildon and Jamir Miller.