clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

7 Utah teams in NCAA tourney

Seven Utah college basketball teams — four in men's competition and three in the women's — earned berths in the NCAA tournaments beginning this week.

Three of the men's teams will play Thursday. Brigham Young (23-8), a No. 12 seed, will take on No. 5 Connecticut (21-9) at the Spokane Arena in a South Regional game, Weber State, which went 26-5 in rolling to the Big Sky regular season and tourney titles, will meet Big 10 champion Wisconsin (22-7), also in Spokane. The Wildcats are a No. 12 seed.

Utah State (24-8), which edged Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo for the Big West tourney title, drew a No. 15 seed in the West regional and will meet Kansas (25-7) in Oklahoma City.

On Friday, ninth-seeded Utah (24-7) will play Pac-10 tournament champion and No. 8 seed Oregon (23-9) in a Midwest game in Nashville, Tenn.

Utah and Brigham Young finished one-two in the Mountain West during the regular season. Both lost in the conference tourney semifinals at Las Vegas.

The Jon M. Huntsman Center at the University of Utah will host four West Regional games Thursday. No. 1 seed Arizona (25-3) will play No. 16 Vermont, Cincinnati (17-11) will meet Gonzaga (23-8), Duke (24-6) will play Mountain West tourney champion Colorado State (19-13), and Creighton (29-4) will meet Central Michigan (24-6).

Thursday's winners will play second-round games Saturday and Friday's winners will play on Sunday.

In the women's tourney, Brigham Young (19-11), which finished second to New Mexico in the Mountain West tournament, will meet Colorado (22-7) Saturday in a Mideast Regional game at The Coors Events & Conference Center in Boulder, Colo. The Cougars are a No. 11 seed.

Utah (23-6) was a No. 8 seed in the Midwest Regional and will play DePaul (22-9) Sunday at Reynolds Coliseum in Raleigh, N.C. Also on Sunday, Big Sky champion Weber State (21-8) will challenge No. 4 West seed Ohio State (21-9) at the Thomas Assembly Center in Ruston, La.

Second-round games are scheduled Monday and Tuesday.

Men's competition will end at the New Orleans Superdome with the semifinals April 5, followed by the title game April 7. The women's Final Four will be April 6 and 8 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.