clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Kentucky Wildcats surprise no one with win

NEW ORLEANS — No. 2 Kentucky extended its winning streak to 23 games, holding off Mississippi State 64-57 on Sunday to win its 24th Southeastern Conference tournament championship.

Kentucky (29-3) hasn't lost since Dec. 28, an 18-point loss to Louisville.

Keith Bogans, the tournament MVP, scored 22 points as the Wildcats became the first team in 51 years to go undefeated in SEC play during the regular season and then win the conference tournament.

Winsome Frazier hit a 3-pointer to bring Mississippi State (21-9) within 56-55 with 2:42 remaining, and the Bulldogs had a chance to go ahead when Mario Austin was fouled with 1:51 to go. He missed both, and Kentucky outscored the Bulldogs 8-2 the rest of the way.

Timmy Bowers scored 13 points to lead the Bulldogs, who were trying to repeat as tournament champions.

NO. 6 OKLAHOMA 49, MISSOURI 47: At Dallas, Oklahoma led by 22 points with 15:05 left and failed to score another field goal but still managed to win their third straight Big 12 tournament.

The Sooners (24-6) led 46-24 after a 3-pointer, then missed 14 straight shots and turned the ball over seven times

Arthur Johnson had 21 points and 11 rebounds for the Tigers (21-10).

Travon Bryant, whose short jumper at the buzzer knocked off No. 23 Oklahoma State in the quarterfinals, hit a 3-pointer with 1:25 left that got Missouri within 48-47.

NO. 12 DUKE 84, N.C. STATE 77: At Greensboro, N.C., freshman J.J. Redick scored 23 of his 30 points over the final 10:05 as the Blue Devils rallied from a 15-point deficit to win their fifth straight ACC title.

The victory was Duke's 15th straight in the ACC postseason and gave coach Mike Krzyzewski his eighth title in 12 tries with the Blue Devils (24-6).

Josh Powell had 26 points for the Wolfpack.

NO. 13 ILLINOIS 72, OHIO ST. 59: At Chicago, Roger Powell scored 16 points and conference player of the year Brian Cook added 15 points and seven rebounds for the Illini, who their first Big Ten tournament title.

The Illini (24-6) have won eight of their last nine games, with that one loss by one point at Wisconsin.

Brent Darby had 27 points and six assists for Ohio State (17-14), which was playing its fourth game in as many days.