clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Church issues releases and fills vacancies

The naming of 2 apostles leads to other changes

Changes in top church leadership Saturday meant some shuffling in its quorums. A number of general authorities were also released.

The appointment of Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf to the Quorum of the Twelve created a vacancy in the Presidency of the Quorums of the Seventy of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Elder Robert C. Oaks, a member of the Second Quorum of the Seventy, was sustained as Elder Uchtdorf's replacement.

Current Brigham Young University-Idaho President Elder David A. Bednar was released as an Area Authority Seventy and sustained as a member of the Quorum of the Twelve.

Adding one new leader, Elder Andrew M. Ford was sustained as an Area Authority Seventy.

Released from their service as members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy were: Elder E. Ray Bateman, Elder Val R. Christensen, Elder Keith Crockett, Elder Merrill C. Oaks, Elder Gordon T. Watts and Elder Stephen A. West.

Also released from their service as Area Authority Seventies were: Juan A. Alvaredejo, Julio E. Alvarado, Modesto M. Amistad Jr., Horacio P. Araya, Robert K. Bills, Harold C. Brown, V. Francisco Chinchay, Armando Gaona, Eduardo A. Lamartine, Gary S. Matsuda, Julio E. Otay, Carlos L. Pedraja, Jorge A. Pedrero, Joao R. C. Martins Silva, Iraja B. Soares, Hector M. Verdugo and Jorge F. Zeballos.