clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Conference news

Two new apostles and a new member of the Presidency of the Seventy were sustained, and two new temples were announced in the Sunday morning session during President Gordon B. Hinckley's opening address.

Called to the Quorum of the Twelve were Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf and Elder David A. Bednar.

Elder Robert C. Oaks of the Second Quorum of the Seventy was called to the Presidency of the Seventy.

New temples were announced for Twin Falls, Idaho, and for the Salt Lake Valley.

Six members of the Second Quorum of the Seventy were released: Elders E. Ray Bateman, Val R. Christensen, Keith Crockett, Merrill C. Oaks, Gordon T. Watts and Stephen A. West.

Elder Andrew M. Ford was sustained as an Area Authority Seventy, a calling previously announced. (See Church News, June 26, 2004, p. 12.)

Released as Area Authority Seventies were: Juan A. Alvaradejo, Julio E. Alvarado, Modesto M. Amistad Jr., Horacio P. Araya, Robert K. Bills, Harold C. Brown, V. Francisco Chinchay, Armando Gaona, Eduardo A. Lamartine, Gary S. Matsuda, Julio E. Otay, Carlos L. Pedraja, Jorge A. Pedrero, Joao R. C. Martins Silva, Iraja B. Soares, Hector M. Verdugo and Jorge F. Zeballos.