clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utes sweep individual soccer honors

LAS VEGAS — The University of Utah swept the top individual awards as the Mountain West Conference announced its 2005 women's soccer honors at a pre-championship banquet Tuesday night.

Junior forward Amanda Feight was named offensive player of the year, teammate Melissa Wayman was the defensive player of the year, and Adele Letro was named freshman of the year. Utah coach Rich Manning rounded out the U. sweep as MWC coach of the year.

BYU, Utah and UNLV each placed three players on the all-MWC first team, while San Diego State and Wyoming each had one first-team honoree.

Joining Feight, Wayman and Letro on the first team were BYU midfielder/forward Jamie Rendich Beck, midfielder Charlene Lui and forward Katie Larkin.

The Cougars placed a pair on the second team — forward Bobbi Tillotson and defender Nicole Anderson — while U. goalkeeper Ashley Mason was a second-team selection.

Feigt helped Utah to its second conference title, leading the league in goals (five) and points (11) in conference games and tying for first in game-winning goals with two.

Wayman aided Utah to an unbeaten conference season, which included four shutouts. She anchored the Utah backline that only allowed four goals in conference play.

Letro contributed two goals and two assists in conference play and is the Utes' overall leading scorer with 18 points.

Beck leads BYU with 10 goals and seven assists for 27 pints, topping the MWC in overall games in points, goals and game-winning goals (five). The midfield catalyst of the Cougars' offense, Lui was the Hawaii tournament MVP early in the season. Larkin has scored four goals and six assists in her first collegiate season.