DC Comics, the largest English-language publisher of comics in the world — and the home of Superman and Batman — has joined with the U.S. Postal Service to announce that the first stamp pane (20 stamps) to honor comic-book superheroes will be issued during summer 2006.

The DC Comics Super Heroes commemorative stamps will feature 10 classic characters — Aquaman, Batman, The Flash, Green Arrow, Green Lantern, Hawkman, Plastic Man, Supergirl, Superman and Wonder Woman. While half of the pane of 20 will be character portraits, the other half will show classic comic-book covers.

"DC Comics is thrilled to have our characters appear on the first ever commemorative stamp pane devoted to superheroes," DC Comics President & Publisher Paul Levitz said in a news release. "These stamps acknowledge the unique role of the DC heroes in American culture, and proudly present the art of three generations of great comics creators from pioneers like Bob Kane and Jack Kirby to current star talent Jim Lee and George Perez."

David Failor, the postal executive director of stamps services, added, "Placing comic-book characters on postage stamps is a natural for attracting comic-book readers and collectors into the exciting world of stamp collecting."