clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Huntsman names nominating panel

Gov. Jon Huntsman Jr. has appointed seven people to the 7th Judicial District Nominating Commission.

The 7th Judicial District consists of Emery, San Juan, Grand and Carbon counties.

Each individual has been appointed to serve a four-year term on the Judicial Nominating Commission.

By state law, the bipartisan commission includes lawyers and non-lawyers.

The members are Sam Singleton, Ferron; Gwen Peacock, Castle Dale; Clayton Long, Blanding; Craig Hall, Monticello; Janet Lowe, Moab; Ryan Thomas, Price; Dr. Barry Cook, Price.

The members review all nominations for any judicial vacancies in the 7th District. They will send between three and five names to the governor, and then the governor will nominate the judge, subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.