Facebook Twitter

Rhodes Scholars named for 2009

SHARE Rhodes Scholars named for 2009

WASHINGTON — Thirty-two men and women from across the United States have been selected as Rhodes Scholars for 2009, the scholarship trust announced Sunday.

The scholars were selected from 769 applicants endorsed by 207 colleges and universities.

The scholars include first-time winners from Augsburg College in Minneapolis and Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif.

The scholarships, the oldest of the international study awards available to American students, provide two or three years of study. The students will enter Oxford University in England next October.

This year's winners include Scott M. Moore of Louisville, Ky., who graduated in June from Princeton with honors in public and international service. Moore is currently on a Fulbright Fellowship in China in ecology and environmental studies.

He plans to do graduate work in nature, society and environmental policy while at Oxford.

Rhodes Scholarships were created in 1902 by the will of British philanthropist Cecil Rhodes. Winners are selected on the basis of high academic achievement, personal integrity, leadership potential and physical vigor, among other attributes.

The American students will join an international group of scholars selected from 13 other jurisdictions around the world. Approximately 80 scholars are selected each year.

The value of the Rhodes Scholarship varies depending on the field of study. The total value averages about $50,000 per year.

With the elections announced Sunday, 3,164 Americans have won Rhodes Scholarships, representing more than 300 colleges and universities.

The 32 American students chosen as Rhodes Scholars for 2009, listed by geographic region:

District I:

Matthew L. Gethers III, Waterbury, Conn., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Rakim H. D. Brooks, Bronx, N.Y., Brown University

District II:

Joshua A. Lospinoso, Sparta, N.J., United States Military Academy

Timothy A. Nunan, Palos Verdes, Calif., Princeton University

District III:

David L. V. Bauer, Bronx, N.Y., City College of New York

R. Jisung Park, Shelton, Conn., Columbia University

District IV:

Caitlin E. Mullarkey, Wilmington, Del., Swarthmore College

Abigail P. Seldin, Tierra Verde, Fla., University of Pennsylvania

District V:

Scott M. Moore, Louisville, Ky., Princeton University

Anthony Chase Palisch, Calvert City, Ky., Centre College

District VI:

Aisha I. Saad, Cary, N.C., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Alia Whitney-Johnson, Leicester, N.C., MIT

District VII:

Julia Parker Goyer, Birmingham, Ala., Duke University

Myron L. Rolle, Princeton, N.J., Florida State University

District VIII:

Stephen J. Hammer, Carrollton, Texas, Princeton

Malorie N. Snider, Friendswood, Texas, Harvard University

District IX:

Lucas M. Brown, Leesburg, Va., Oberlin College

Gregory E. Lippiatt, York, Pa., Virginia Military Institute

District X:

Sarah B. Kleinman, Indianapolis, Ind., Stanford University

Anna Yermakova, Buffalo Grove, Ill., Northwestern University

District XI:

Vincent M. Hofer, Franklin, Kan., Kansas State University

Shadrack T. White, Sandersville, Miss., University of Mississippi

District XII:

Abdulrahman M. El-Sayed, Ann Arbor, Mich., University of Michigan

Brian J. Krohn, Cloquet, Minn., Augsburg College

District XIII:

Noelle R. Lopez, Tucson, Ariz., Santa Clara University

Jarrad M. Aguirre, Centennial, Colo., Yale University

District XIV:

Lindsay M. Whorton, Independence, Mo., Drake University

Ashley L. Nord, Rapid City, S.D., University of Minnesota

District XV:

Mallory A. Dwinal, Gig Harbor, Wash., Northwestern

Kyle Q. Haddad-Fonda, Issaquah, Wash., Harvard

District XVI:

Scott W. Hugo, Alamo, Calif., University of California, Los Angeles

Christopher D. Joseph, Santa Barbara, Calif., UCLA ———

On the Net:

The Rhodes Trust: www.rhodesscholar.org/