Facebook Twitter

3 teachers honored by Coca-Cola foundation

SHARE 3 teachers honored by Coca-Cola foundation

Three Utah teachers have been named 2008 Educators of Distinction by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Recipients are Jerry Cowan, football coach at Duchesne High School; Anglea Dondero, a teacher at Hillcrest High School, Midvale; and Edward Lee Cottle, math teacher at Sky View High School, Smithfield.

Cowan was nominated by student Jared Bruton; Dondero by Emmanouel Liodakis; and Cottle by Tyson Kesler.

The teachers are among 250 educators selected nationwide based on nominations by the Coca-Cola Scholar from their high school. Each year the foundation chooses 250 outstanding high school seniors to receive a college scholarship of either $20,000 or $10,000. Those students then designate the teacher, coach, principal or counselor who inspired and encouraged them most as their Educator of Distinction.