clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Election 2009: New mayors abound in Utah County votes

Mia Love became the first black woman to win a mayor's race in Utah's history Tuesday, when Saratoga Springs voters elected her by a margin of 861 votes to 594.

"I'm really excited," Love said. "The first thing I want to do is thank everyone. The second thing I want to do is get to work."

Love defeated candidate Jeff Francom.

For Saratoga Springs' City Council races, Michael D.S. McOmber and Jim Miller beat incumbent Cecil E. Tuley.

James H. Hadfield swept into the mayor's seat in American Fork, claiming 2,194 votes over sitting Mayor Heber Thompson's 1,380.

"I was surprised at the turnout and surprised at the percentages," Hadfield said. "I'd have been happy to win with 51 percent, but to win by two-thirds, that's almost outstanding."

Incumbents Heidi K. Rodeback and Dale O. Gunther were both re-elected to American Fork's two open City Council seats. Rodeback claimed 2,295 votes and plans to get to work on the city's roads and sidewalks. Gunther received 2,000 votes and wants to sell some of the fiber-optic assets the city owns to ease American Fork's tight finances.

In Lehi, Bert Wilson received 2,348 votes to defeat former two-term mayor of Lehi Kenneth Greenwood and incumbent mayor Lehi Howard Johnson, who filed as a write-in candidate.

Lehi's incumbent city Councilmen Stephen Holbrook will keep his seat with 2,132 votes and Kaye Collins will take over incumbent city councilman Johnny Barnes' seat with 2,169 votes. Barnes received 1,850 votes while Gordon Miner received 1,927 votes.

With three precincts in as of press time, Highland's incumbent Mayor Jay Franson was losing to Lynn Ritchie by 769 votes.

Running for Highland's city council, Thomas Butler, Roger Dixon, Scott L. Smith and Brent Wallace, were all new to campaigning, and faired pretty equally in the primary elections. But Smith and Butler were both leading toward the end of the night with over 1,200 votes each. Dixon and Wallace trailed with about 800 votes each.

In the faceoff between Pleasant Grove's mayoral candidates Bruce Call and Jeffery D. Wilson, Call claimed 2,274 votes while Wilson got only 1,576.

The City Council race was much closer, with incumbent Lee G. Jensen claiming 1,873 votes, losing his seat by one vote to challengers Milton Fugal with 1,874 votes and Kimberly Robinson with 2,107 votes.

Leadership was an issue in Spanish Fork where Mayor Joe Thomas' job often took him away from council meetings and city businesses. During his frequent absences when he was out of the country, G. Wayne Andersen took over as Mayor Pro Tem. Voters made Andersen mayor with 1,789 votes to challenger and former City Councilman Sherman Huff's 1,365.

Winning councilmen were incumbent Steve Liefson with 1,867 votes and newcomer Keir Scoubes with 1,690 votes. Former City Councilman Seth Sorensen lost with 1,666 votes along with Matthew McEwan with 1,015 votes.

Voters in Springville returned incumbents Ben Jolley and Mark W. Packard to their City Council seats. Jolley received 1,063 votes and Packard 1,464. Challengers were Colleen Hatfield with 519 votes and Christine M. Tolman with 949.

Wilford W. Clyde ran unopposed for the mayor's seat with 1,824 votes. Power and recreation were hot buttons in Springville.

Eagle Mountain's mayoral race is too close to call. After all precincts had reported, incumbent mayor Heather Jackson was ahead with 904 votes against Regan Bolli's 848. However, there are still 73 provisional ballots that won't be counted until Nov. 17. If she wins, Jackson will be Eagle Mountain's first mayor to be re-elected.

In Eagle Mountain's City Council race, incumbent City Councilman David Lifferth was defeated with only 782 votes against fellow incumbent Nathan Ochsenhirt with 1,238 votes and newcomer John Painter with 1,271.

In Mapleton, Mayor Laurel Brady lost her second bid for mayor to challenger and City Councilman Brian Wall. The vote was 1,068 to 599. Earlier, the City Council backed Wall for the city's top job.

Also elected were newcomers Ryan Farnworth with 1,207 votes and Jim Lundberg with 1,176 votes. Challengers were April Clawson with 451 votes and Sallie Korman with 333.

Salem voters elected City Councilman Stanley W. Green as mayor with 622 votes over challenger Jon Cope's 507 votes.

Voters also unseated incumbent Councilman Brent V. Hanks for Sidney M. Jorgensen with 580 votes and Sterling M. Rees with 558. Brent Black received just 534 votes.

In Goshen, Fred Jensen won the mayor's race with 121 votes over Craig Brackenbury's 62. Russell Woodland won a two-year Council seat with 134 votes. Woodland joins his wife, Cary Woodland on the Town Council.

Steven Staheli and Jeff Thompson both won four-year seats.

Vineyard's mayor Randy E. Farnworth ran unopposed for reelection. City Council incumbent Norman Holdaway also won his seat again with 16 votes, and will be joined on the Council by newcomer Jeff R. Gillespie with 24 votes.

Elk Ridge candidates Erin Clawson and Paul Squires used a 2007 city survey to bolster their candidacy for City Council. Clawson won with 275 votes, while Squires lost with 225 votes. Weston Youd was also victorious with 267 votes, while Jason Bullard lost with 141 votes.

Kenneth O. Lutes ran unopposed for mayor and garnered 423 votes out of the 471 ballots cast, city recorder Jan Davis said.

The small city of Fairfield voted to re-elect Mayor Lynn Gilies, who ran unopposed. The city also reelected R.L. Panek to the City Council, and elected Brad Gurney to the vacant council seat.

In Lindon, Mark L. Walker (934 votes) and Bret D. Frampton (635 votes) both won seats on the council, beating out incumbent Eric Anthony. Walker served on the council from 1990 to 1994 and decided to run again after the council voted to increase property taxes 35 percent. The city's mayor, Jim Dain, was reelected unopposed.

Payson voters ushered out Mayor Burtis Bills with 772 votes and replaced him with a write-in candidate, Richard D. Moore.

Incumbent City Councilman Brent Grotegut also lost with 665 votes, along with challenger Robert Baird with 846 votes. City Council winners were Michael W. Hardy with 991 votes and incumbent Scott Phillips with 1,044 votes.

Santaquin Mayor James DeGraffenreid will keep his job as will incumbent City Councilman James Linford. Degraffenreid received 570 votes to challenger Filip Askerlund's 495. Linford received 539 votes.

Rick Steele also won a seat on the council with 545 votes.