clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Get to know A League

New York-Penn League

One of the oldest minor leagues in baseball, the New York Pennsylvania League started with six teams in 1890. Now the short-season Single-A league has 14 teams divided into three divisions.

In 1938 the league was renamed the Eastern League (which still operates as Double-A league). A year later the PONY League (Pennsylvania; Ontario, Canada; New York) was formed.

Since then the league has taken its current moniker, even though the league now has teams located in Maryland, Massachusetts, Ohio and even Vermont.

As part of the Baseball Hall of Fame festivities, NYPL's Oneonta Tigers and the Tri-City Valley Cats played Saturday in Cooperstown, N.Y.