clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Real Salt Lake unveils 2010 schedule

Real Salt Lake unveiled its 2010 regular-season schedule on Wednesday.

The defending Major League Soccer champs will kick things off on March 27 at the San Jose Earthquakes, and they will conclude their regular season on Oct. 24 at rival Colorado.

With the addition of the expansion Philadelphia Union this season, MLS will have a balanced schedule with all 16 teams playing each other twice — home and away.

After opening the season on the road at San Jose and Houston, Real Salt Lake returns to Rio Tinto Stadium for its home-opener against Seattle on April 10.

RSL's 9-1-5 record at home last year was the best mark in MLS. Its 2-11-2 road record, however, was the worst among the eight playoff teams. Becoming a more consistent team on the road in 2010 will likely be the difference between the club soaring into the playoffs or perhaps sneaking into the playoffs as it did in 2009.

RSL's toughest league stretch actually comes during the final month of the season, with three of its four October matches on the road. Conversely, its most favorable stretch is likely in May and June, when it plays five of seven matches at Rio Tinto Stadium.

RSL and the rest of the league will take a two-week break from June 11-26 because of the World Cup in South Africa.

Two of the more anticipated matches of the season will be against the L.A. Galaxy, which RSL beat on penalty kicks in the MLS Cup last November. The teams meet on April 17 in California and then on June 9 in Utah.

Another highly anticipated match will be RSL's road game on Oct. 9 at the New York Red Bulls, who are moving into the pristine Red Bull Arena this season.

RSL's weeklong rookie camp got under way Wednesday, with players reporting for their entrance physicals. The camp is optional for veterans, who will officially begin arriving next Wednesday.

Real Salt Lake 2010 regular season schedule

Date ... Opponent, Time, National TV

Sat. March 27 ... at San Jose, 7 p.m. (FSC)

Thurs., April 1 ... at Houston, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sat., April 10 ... SEATTLE, 7 p.m.

Sat., April 17 ... at L.A. Galaxy, 8:30 p.m. (FSC)

Sat., April 24 ... at Columbus, 5:30 p.m.

Sat., May 1 ... TORONTO, 7 p.m.

Sat., May 8 ... PHILADELPHIA, 7 p.m.

Thurs., May 13 ... HOUSTON, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sat., May 22 ... at Chivas USA, 8:30 p.m.

Sat., May 29 ... KANSAS CITY, 7 p.m.

Sat., June 5 ... at D.C. United, 5:30 p.m.

Wed., June 9 ... L.A. GALAXY, 7 p.m.

Fri., June 25 ... SAN JOSE, 7 p.m.

Fri., July 2 ... NEW ENGLAND, 8 p.m.

Thurs., July 8 ... at Chicago, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sat., July 17 ... at FC Dallas, 6:30 p.m.

Sat., July 24 ... CHIVAS USA, 7 p.m.

Sat., July 31 ... D.C. UNITED, 7 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 7 ... at Kansas City, 6:30 p.m.

Wed., Aug. 11 ... at Philadelphia, 5:30 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 14 ... COLUMBUS, 7 p.m.

Sat., Aug. 28 ... at Toronto FC, 5 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 4 ... NEW YORK, 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 9 ... at Seattle, 9 p.m. (ESPN2)

Sat., Sept. 18 ... CHICAGO, 2 p.m. (Telefutura)

Sat., Sept. 25 ... COLORADO, 8 p.m. (FSC)

Sat., Oct. 2 ... at New England, 5:30 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 9 ... at New York, 2:30 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 16 ... FC DALLAS, 7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 23 ... at Colorado, TBD


All times MDT