clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

High school wrestling: South Summit, Millard claim tourney titles

RICHFIELD — The 2A divisional wrestling tournament played like a re-run of last year for South Summit and Millard on Saturday night.

In Division A of the tournament, South Summit piled up 275.5 points to win the tournament, followed by North Sevier, which trailed by just 11/2 points.

"That's pretty tight," said South Summit coach Gary Crandall. "Hopefully, we can carry it over to state and surprise some people."

Crandall said he told his wrestlers going into the tournament that it could be as close as 10 points.

The tournament acts as a preview for the upcoming 2A state tournament, where both divisions will be thrown into the mix together.

Going into the championship round, South Summit had 12 wrestlers slated to take to the mats. North Sevier was trailing by less than two points and had eight wrestlers in the final rounds of the evening. The two schools would face each other seven times in Saturday night's final bouts.

North Sevier won the first three matches between the schools. North Sevier's Michael Christensen beat South Summit's Hunter Lucas in a 7-3 technical win in the 103-pound weight class. North Sevier's Cy Robins (112 pounds) beat South Summit's Brian Adlard by decision as well.

And North Sevier's Kade Johnson (119) defeated South Summit's McKay DeGering, also in a decision.

But South Summit's Colton Thornton (125 pounds) broke North Sevier's streak by defeating Tanner Quarnberg in their title match. Jeff McCormick (130) gave the Wildcats their next first-place medal over North Sevier's Joey Edwards.

North Sevier's Austin Allred (160) then went out and won his match against South Summit's Connor Crandall. And in the final match of the night between the two schools, South Summit's Niko Klus (171) beat North Sevier's Michael Hales.

"I wish we could have been about two points higher," said North Sevier coach Barry Smith. "We did well, though ... every varsity kid was third or higher."

Included in the mix for North Sevier was Eric Lyman, who came away as the 285-pound divisional champion.

In the B division of the tournament, Millard's matsters were the focus.

With 14 wrestlers qualified for the championship round, and a commanding lead going into the finals, there was little doubt as to which team would win the B division.

"It was a lot of fun," said Millard coach Blake Turner. "People like to cheer against you, and I take it as a complement."

However, having more than a dozen wrestlers in the finals can also be bittersweet. Starting out the championship rounds were a pair of Millard wrestlers, Brenden Turner and Nick Sorensen, in the 103-pound weight class. Turner was able to pin his teammate in the third round.

Kamron Day (119 pounds) beat South Sevier's Jayden Johnson by decision. Josh Rasmussen (125) also helped lead the Eagles, as he beat Beaver's Wyatt Marshall win a pin in the first round.

Matt Tuttle (130) also contributed to Millard's dominance by pinning South Sevier's Brock Willes. Deric Searle (135), Dakota Payne (140), Josh Aleman (152) and Thomas Kesler (215) all won individual championships for the Eagles.

Millard is now on the hunt for its fifth consecutive state title.

"We need to take care of business next week," Turner said.

Second-place Beaver was led by wins from Waylon Marshall (145 pounds) and Kyson Smith (189).

Enterprise's Colby Barlocker (160) pinned Millard's Kade Wilcox to retain a perfect 50-0 record for the year. Barlocker remains the only undefeated wrestler in 2A.