Facebook Twitter

Westminster campus briefs

SHARE Westminster campus briefs


WHITEFISH, Mont. — Frontier Conference commissioner Kent Paulson announced the 2010-2011 all-conference men's basketball team, as well as individual award winners today. Westminster had four players named to the two teams matching Montana State-Northern for the most in the league.

Westminster had Michael Stockton and Jake Orchard each be named First Team All-Conference. AJ Reilly and Tanner Gregory were named to the second team. Orchard was also named the Frontier's Newcomer of the Year.

The four all-conference players are tied for the most in a single season at Westminster with the 2008-09 team. This is the seventh time that Westminster has placed two players on the first team.

For Stockton, this is his first all-conference recognition. He ranks in the Frontier Conference top 20 in eight statistical categories. The 6-1 guard from Spokane, Wash. is third in the league in scoring at 18.17 points per game while shooting 54.4% from the field to rank second. He is also second in steals, assists while leading the conference in assist-to-turnover ratio. Stockton scored in double figures in all but two games this season and 12 times scored at least 20 points in a game.

Orchard makes the first team in his first year with the Griffins. The 6-4 sophomore from Salt Lake City becomes just the second Westminster player to win the newcomer award. Orchard averaged 16.6 points per game and led the Frontier by shooting 55.5% from the floor. He scored in double figures 26 times, including the final 19 games of the season. He shot 83.1% at the foul line to rank second in the conference and his 1.83 steals per night is the third-best average in the league.

Gregory was named to the second team after scoring 10.9 points per game.

The 6-6 junior forward from Provo, Utah reached double figures in scoring 20 times and posted a career high 22 points in a Frontier Conference Tournament semi-final game at Carroll. Gregory led the Griffins with three double-doubles and collected a team-best 5.3 rebounds per game.

Reilly earned second team honors during his debut season with Westminster. The 5-10 guard from San Diego, Calif. scored nine points per game while shooting 40.9% from the field. Reilly scored in double figures 10 times and led the team in scoring in five games. He also posted 1.9 assists per night while coming away with 1.04 steals per outing. Reilly ranks third in the Frontier with his 82% shooting at the foul line.

Brandon Brown of Montana Western was named the Player of the Year.

Brandon Veltri of Carroll College was named Coach of the Year. Byago Diouf of Carroll College was named Defensive Player of the Year and Marcel Towns of the University of Great Falls was selected Freshman of the Year.

Westminster finished the year at 21-9 and advanced to the semi-finals of the Frontier Conference Tournament. It appears they will miss the 32-team NAIA National Championship field for the first time in three years. The bracket and teams will be announced live on the Victory Sports Network on Wednesday at 6 p.m. The broadcast can be found online at www.livestream.com victorysports.