clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Phelps dominates 200 IM to win final race in Indy

INDIANAPOLIS — Michael Phelps turned his showdown with Ryan Lochte into no contest Saturday.

Phelps finished the 200 IM in 1 minute, 56.32 seconds, nearly two seconds faster than this year's previous world best and more than three seconds ahead of his biggest rival. Lochte finished third in 1:59.37 at the Indianapolis Grand Prix.

Phelps won three of the four events he entered in his last competitive meet at the IUPUI Natatorium. Lochte won nothing.

But Lochte's training program and schedule didn't help his results, especially Saturday when he swam both the 100 backstroke and 200 IM within a 30-minute span.

Saturday's other winners included Missy Franklin in the women's 100 back, Caitlin Leverenz in the women's 200 IM and Jessica Hardy, who won the 100 breaststroke in a world best 1:06.12.