clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Novak Djokovic wins Key Biscayne for 3rd time

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. — Top-ranked Novak Djokovic won his third Sony Ericsson Open title Sunday, holding every service game to beat Andy Murray 6-1, 7-6 (5).

Djokovic also won in 2007 and last year. Only six-time champion Pete Sampras won more men's titles.

The lone break point Djokovic faced came in the fifth game, and he erased that. In the tiebreaker he lost only one service point, went ahead to stay when Murray double-faulted to make it 3-2, and closed out the victory when the Scotsman sailed his final forehand long.

Djokovic improved to 90-8 since the start of 2011. He has won five Grand Slam titles, including the past three in a row.

Now begins the clay season culminating with the French Open, the only major event Djokovic has yet to win.