clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Taylorsville committee weighs joining fire district

TAYLORSVILLE — In an move aimed to enhance transparency and education, the Taylorsville City Council has created an ad hoc committee to explore the upcoming November vote on whether the city should join the Salt Lake Valley Fire District.

Former Mayor Janice Rasmussen serves as chairwoman of the committee, which is composed of two residents from each City Council district. The committee has been meeting and gathering information and is expected to present findings to the City Council this summer.

The council voted last summer to join the Salt Lake Valley Fire District, but residents who disagreed with the decision gathered enough signatures to put the issue on November's ballot.

The committee is looking at costs and service protocols of joining the district. Currently, Taylorsville contracts with Unified Fire Authority. A third option is forming an independent Taylorsville Fire Department.

The fire district is a separate taxing entity that would fund Taylorsville's fire and emergency services through Unified Fire Authority. The district accomplishes this by levying property taxes, and the funds are forwarded to UFA for services.

Herriman, Riverton, Midvale and unincorporated Salt Lake County are current members of the Salt Lake Valley Fire District.