clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NBA Playoff race: L.A. Lakers only missed the postseason five times in franchise history

The Minneapolis Lakers during the 1957-58 basketball season.
The Minneapolis Lakers during the 1957-58 basketball season.
Associated Press

As the 2012-13 NBA regular season nears the end, the Los Angeles Lakers are on the verge of missing the playoffs for just the sixth time in franchise history.

The Los Angeles Lakers began in Minneapolis in 1947. The name Lakers came from Minnesota's nickname,"The Land of 10,000 Lakes."

Since starting up, the Lakers have made playoff appearances in all but five seasons. In the years that they missed the postseason, it was usually due to turmoil in the coaching staff or offseason trades.

L.A. only missed the playoffs two seasons in a row once, during the years of 1974-76.

The Utah Jazz and the Lakers have each taken turns in the eighth spot as of late. If the Jazz hold onto the final seed, the Lakers will miss the playoffs despite their late season push.

See the full list of years the Lakers missed the postseason.