clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Basketball Hall of Fame announces candidates for inaugural Karl Malone Award

On Tuesday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced 16 candidates for the inaugural Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, which recognizes the top power forward in Division I men’s college basketball.

Malone, a 2010 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, said on Tuesday in a news release he is honored to have the award named after him.

“I’m grateful to be a part of this prestigious award,” said Malone. “To be recognized by the Basketball Hall of Fame is an honor and each of the … power forwards on this list is very deserving.”

“2015 marks the first year the Basketball Hall of Fame will recognize the top players in all positions in men’s college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, president and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame, in Tuesday’s news release. “When it comes to power forwards who have had a drastic impact on the game, Karl Malone is at the top of the list. In terms of consistent play, ‘The Mailman’ always delivered, and we are delighted to include him in this recognition of the best power forwards in the game today.”

A two-time NBA Most Valuable Player and second in the all-time leading scorer list in NBA history, Karl Malone played 18 of 19 seasons with the Jazz, is the franchise’s all-time leading scorer, and is one of the two most iconic players in Utah Jazz history, along with John Stockon.

Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He played three seasons for the Bulldogs (1982-85) and led them to one Sweet 16 appearance. Malone earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons, averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game.

The winner of the 2015 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10.

2015 Karl Malone Award candidates

Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, University of Arizona

Justin Moss, University of Buffalo

Kevon Looney, UCLA

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga University

David Laury, Iona College

Aaron White, University of Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State University

Perry Ellis, University of Kansas

Jordan Mickey, Louisiana State University

Montrezl Harrell, University of Louisville

Jake Layman, University of Maryland

Christian Wood, UNLV

Seth Tuttle, University of Northern Iowa

Myles Turner, University of Texas

Larry Nance Jr., University of Wyoming

Rico Gathers, Baylor University

For more information on the 2015 Karl Malone Power Forward Award, click here.

Xoel CÀrdenas is a writer with Deseret News sports. He is also a columnist at SB Nation, the largest sports blog site in the country, where he covers FC Barcelona. Follow him on Twitter @XoelCardenas.