The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced Tuesday the names on the 2016 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, and an Aggie legend made the list.

Former Utah State defensive end Phil Olsen is one of 76 players, to go along with five coaches, from the Football Bowl Subdivision nominated. Additionally, 92 players and 27 coaches from the divisional ranks made the ballot.

“Having a ballot and a voice in the selection of the inductees is one of the most cherished NFF member benefits,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, a 1989 Hall of Fame inductee from Mississippi. “There is no group more knowledgeable or passionate about college football than our membership, and the tradition of the ballot helps us engage them in the lofty responsibility of selecting those who have reached the pinnacle of achievement in our sport.”

Olsen lettered three years for the Aggies from 1967-69 and was a 1969 consensus first-team All-American. During his three years in the program, Utah State compiled an overall record of 17-12-1, including two wins apiece over BYU and Utah.

In 1969, Olsen was a team captain, team MVP and the Utah State Athlete of the Year. He was selected to play in the East-West Shrine Game and the Hula Bowl.

In Olsen’s junior year, the Aggies went 7-3 and defeated Wisconsin, 20-0, for Utah State’s lone win over a school from the Big Ten Conference.

Olsen is a member of the Utah Sports Hall of Fame (inducted in 1985), USU’s All-Century Football Team and Utah State’s Hall of Fame (inducted in 1994). In 2000, he was selected by Sports Illustrated as one of the State of Utah’s Top 50 Athletes of the Century.

Following his senior season, the native of Logan was drafted in the first round (fourth overall) of the 1970 NFL Draft by the Boston Patriots. Olsen went on to play seven seasons in the NFL, including one year with the Patriots, four with the Los Angeles Rams and two with the Denver Broncos.

When he was with the Rams, he played alongside his brother, Merlin, another former Aggie great. Merlin and Phil played side-by-side as defensive tackles for the Rams in 1971 and 1972.

The announcement of the 2016 Hall of Fame Class will be made Friday, Jan. 8, 2016, at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, Arizona. The hotel is serving as the official media hotel for the College Football Playoff National Championship, which will be played Jan. 11, at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. Several of the inductees will be on site at the press conference to represent the class and share their thoughts on the announcement. The Jan. 8 event will be televised live, and more information will be available as the date draws near. Inductees will also participate in pregame festivities and the coin toss on Jan. 11.

Three former Aggies are in the Hall of Fame, including Merlin Olsen, E.L. “Dick” Romney and John Ralston.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams, played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior, played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach, won at least 60 percent of their games and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and older than 70 years of age, there is no waiting period. If he is 75 or older, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

Doug Hoffman is the associate athletic director for Utah State University Athletic Media Relations.