clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utah State's Travis Seefeldt named second-team All-MW, 5 Aggies earn honorable mention honors

Senior defensive lineman Travis Seefeldt led the Utah State representatives on this year's Mountain West all-conference awards released Tuesday.

Seefeldt, who missed the 2015 season with injuries sustained in a car crash, had 41 tackles, six tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, three quarterback hurries and a forced fumble for the Aggies in 2016 from his nose guard position.

He also started all 12 games this season and recorded a career-best nine tackles and two tackles for loss against Colorado State this season. This is Seefeldt's first all-conference honor; he also earned academic all-MW honors in 2013 and 2014 and academic all-WAC honors in 2012.

San Diego State and Wyoming dominated the individual awards. Aztecs senior running back Donnel Pumphrey earned Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year honors, while SDSU senior defensive back Damontae Kazee and junior kick returner Rashaad Penny were named the league's defensive and special teams players of the year, respectively.

Cowboys linebacker Logan Wilson was named MW Freshman of the Year and Wyoming's Craig Bohl earned Coach of the Year honors.

Utah State was also represented by five honorable mentions on the all-conference team, including senior offensive lineman Austin Albrecht, senior defensive lineman Ricky Ali’ifua, senior tight end Wyatt Houston, senior offensive lineman Jake Simonich and senior offensive lineman Austin Stephens.