clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utah Sports Hall of Fame to honor 9

The Utah Sports Hall of Fame Foundation will recognize six coaches and three contributors during the annual Spring Honors and Awards Banquet March 29 at the Little America Hotel.

Doug Berry, Bruce Bitner, Hal Hale, Ray Jenson, Rand Rasmussen and Stan Young will receive Distinguished High School Coach awards. Gary Stevens, Tom Welch and Debra Willardson will be presented Distinguished Service awards.

Berry won two state championships as Alta's football coach. Bitner earned a boys state soccer championship at Davis and was a 25-year football assistant. Hale spent 29 years as the boys basketball coach at Jordan, winning one state title.

Jenson coached Alta's boys and girls cross-country and track and field teams to a combined five state championships over a span of six school years. Rasmussen led the Bingham girls basketball team to four state titles. Young won 535 games in 34 seasons as Duchesne's boys basketball coach.

Stevens has supported Utah State's athletic program and changed the landscape in Logan with facilities improvements. Welch directed Utah's successful effort to land the 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Willardson worked for 37 years in the University of Utah's sports medicine program.

For reservations ($50), send checks to the USHOFF, 3434 Bengal Blvd. No. 106, Salt Lake City, 84121.