clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Here's how the internet reacted to LDS Church's announcement to drop Scouts for older teens

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints will drop Scouting for young men between the ages of 14 and 18, the Deseret News reported Thursday morning.

Starting on Jan. 1, the LDS Church, which is the oldest and largest charter organization in the Boy Scouts of America, will no longer sponsor Varsity and Venturing Scout programs in both the U.S. and Canada.

Because of the announcement, the phrase "LDS Church" became one of the top trending phrases on Twitter in Salt Lake City.

Effie Delimarkos, a spokeswoman for Boy Scouts of America, told The Washington Post that the BSA is saddened by the decision, since 20 percent of the Boy Scouts are of the Mormon faith.

“We’re sad to see that decision, but we understand,” Delimarkos said.

Others reacted to the news on social media.

Many expressed surprise on Twitter.

Don Hutchings questioned the move in a Facebook post.

“With the heavy influence the church has had on scouting there are no city troops around only church troops. So if they drop it where are these boys to go to complete scouting career?”

The church has clarified that older LDS boys can continue to be registered with Scout troops if they want to pursue their Eagle Scout Award.

Others approved of the decision.

“This was a long time in coming and a much better path forward,” wrote Wes Murray on Facebook.

Both Tim Laderman and Angela Temple Rogers commented on Facebook with two words on the decision: “About time.”

Some Twitter users had questions. Bryan E. Wilson asked if this will eliminate the Eagle Scout Award. And LaNette Phillips asked if “LDS troops with ward support still be allowed to attend Jamboree this summer?” Answers to those questions were clarified in a statement released on Mormon Newsroom this morning.

Scouting units are encouraged to move forward with their 2017 plans, and LDS youths will still have the opportunity to work on their Eagle Scout award even after age 14.