clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Carl Jensen overcomes poor start to lead City Am golf with 67

SALT LAKE CITY — Carl Jensen’s day didn’t start off quite so well Saturday at the Salt Lake City Amateur as he double-bogeyed his first hole, No. 10 at Bonneville Golf Course.

After that, however, Jensen couldn’t have played much better as he made three eagles — three! — and three birdies and finished with a 5-under-par 67 in the tournament that honors longtime Bonneville pro Richard Kramer.

The 67 gives Jensen a two-stroke lead heading into the second round over BYU golfer C.J. Lee and Weber State golfer Boston Watts, who each shot 69 on a hot day at the well-groomed layout on the east side of Salt Lake City.

Four golfers came in at 70 — University of Utah golfer Peyton Hastings, Ryan Brimley, Zachary Neff and Ariel Elftman-Hanson. Two-time champion Kirk Siddens heads a group of eight golfers at 71.

Jensen, a 37-year-old CPA who was the runner-up in the 2003 State Amateur, made eagles at 12, 1 and 5 while adding birdies at 16, 18 and 4. His only bogeys came on his second nine at holes 2 and 7.

Defending champion Patrick Fishburn couldn’t play in this year’s City Am, but at least he had a good excuse. He got married on Saturday.

The A Flight leader is Clark Jones at 73, a shot ahead of Ryan Kelly, while 14-year-old Tyson Shelly leads the B Flight with a 74, three shots better than Scott Smith.

The leaders in championship flight will be re-paired with the leading groups teeing off around 2 p.m. Sunday.


Bonneville Golf Course Par-72

Championship Flight

67 – Carl Jensen

69 – Boston Watts, C.J. Lee

70 – Ryan Brimley, Peyton Hastings, Zachary Neff, Ariel Elftman-Hanson

71 – Preston Alder, JT Timmons, Dan Horner, Kirk Siddens, Brady Stanger, Tommy Johnson, Jed Hilton, James Day

72 – Jason Hargett, David Jennings, Devin Tovey

73 – Ty Anderson, Connor Howe

B Flight

73 – Clark Jones

74 – Ryan Kelly

77 – John Hansgen, Todd Oborn

78 – Karl Avant, Nathan Johnson

79 – Mitchell Creer

C Flight

74 – Tyson Shelly (14)

77 – Scott Smith

79 – Travis Howick

80 – Joel Furness, Robert Mansfield, Paul Mora