clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

BYU men, women earn All-WCC basketball honors

PROVO — BYU’s Yoeli Childs and Elijah Bryant earned First Team All-West Coast Conference honors while Cougar TJ Haws received honorable mention recognition, the WCC announced Tuesday.

In each of the seven years as part of the league, BYU has had two players on the All-WCC First Team.

The WCC announced that Player of the Year is Saint Mary’s Jock Landale, the Coach of the Year is Gonzaga’s Mark Few, the Defensive Player of the Year is Pacific’s Namdi Okonkwo and the Newcomer of the Year is Gonzaga’s Zach Norvell.

The All-WCC teams and award winners are voted on by the league’s 10 head coaches and are based on league games only.

Bryant averaged 18.4 points, 7.0 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.3 steals in WCC play. The junior from Gwinnett, Georgia, was No. 2 in the league in free-throw percentage, tied for second in 3-point field goals made and tied for fifth in rebounding. He scored in double figures in all but one league game and recorded three double-doubles.

Childs averaged 17.9 points, 8.8 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 1.6 blocks in WCC games this season. He finished No. 2 in the conference in rebounds, No. 3 in scoring and blocked shots and No. 6 in field goal percentage. The sophomore forward from South Jordan was part of the All-WCC Freshman Team a year ago.

Haws averaged 11.9 points, 2.8 rebounds and a team-high 4.3 assists in WCC games this season. The sophomore from Alpine was No. 2 in the WCC in steals, No. 5 in assist/turnover ratio and No. 9 in assists.

On the women’s side, BYU freshman Sara Hamson earned WCC Defensive Player of the Year honors and she was also named to the All-WCC Freshman Team.

Meanwhile, senior guard Cassie Devashrayee and sophomore Brenna Chase were named to the All-WCC First Team.

Hamson led the WCC and ranks No. 2 in the nation with 4.3 blocked shots. She recorded two nine-block performances this season. Her older sister, Jennifer Hamson, was the WCC Defensive Player of the Year and Player of the Year in 2013-14.