clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Search committee named to select next president of Weber State University

SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah State Board of Regents announced Thursday a 21-member committee that will conduct a national search for the next president of Weber State University.

In January, WSU President Charles A. Wight announced he would step down as president effective May 1 to pursue other opportunities. An interim president will be named by that time.

The search committee will be co-chaired by Regent Jesselie Anderson and Weber State Board of Trustees Chairman Nolan Karras. It includes representatives of the board of regents, trustees, as well as faculty, staff, students, administration, alumni and community members.

“Weber State University exemplifies the purpose and quality of a dual-mission university, including providing educational access and excellent teaching and playing an active role in its community. We carefully selected the members of the search committee to ensure each has a strong connection to Weber State and is dedicated to the future of the institution,” said Daniel Campbell, chairman of the board of regents in a statement.

“I appreciate the willingness of these committee members to lend their time and expertise to this process.”

Other search committee members include:

Board of Regents: Regents Marlin Jensen; Bob Mardquardt and Cristina Ortega.

Weber State University Board of Trustees: Trustees Kearston Cutrubus, Danielle Croyle and Lola Moli, who is also student body president.

Weber State University administration, faculty and staff: Adrienne Andrews - assistant vice president and chief diversity officer; Nicola Corbin, assistant professor, communications; David Ferro, dean of the College of Engineering, Applied Science and Technology; Doris Geide-Stevenson, Faculty Senate chairwoman and professor of economics; Leslie Loeffel, Davis Learning Support and student services director; Lonnie Lujan, Staff Advisory Council chairperson; Provost Madonne Miner; Craig Oberg, professor of microbiology and Susan Thornock, chairwoman and professor in the School of Nursing.

Community/Alumni representatives: Steve Petersen, chairman and president, Petersen Inc.; Steve Starks, president, Larry H. Miller Sports & Entertainment; Layton Mayor Bob Stevenson; Retired Gen. Kevin Sullivan, former commander of Ogden Air Logistics at Hill Air Force Base.

The presidential search committee will hold public meetings this spring to obtain input from the Weber State community and the general public on the presidential search.

After receiving public comment, the committee will approve a position announcement and call for nominations and applications.

The committee will then screen applications for the position and conduct interviews with candidates. After deliberating, the committee will recommend three to five finalists to the board of regents. The board plans to name a new president by the end of 2018.