Morgan’s composure down the stretch of the opening round of the 3A state tournament on Wednesday resembled that of a team that’s been there, done that.

Three-time defending 3A state champion Morgan shot a 293 during Day 1 at Oquirrh Hills Golf Course in Tooele, opening up a 10-stroke lead over Grantsville, which shot a 303.

The difference was the final four holes.

Morgan played the final four holes in 1-under while Grantsville played them at 10-over. The result is a 10-shot cushion for the Trojans as they seek a 4-peat just like Lone Peak (6A) and Skyline (5A) accomplished earlier in the week in their respective classifications.

Thursday’s final round tees begins at 9 a.m.

Playing in that final group is Morgan senior Tanner Telford, who is already running away with 3A medalist honors. He fired an opening round 64 and leads by seven strokes over Carbon’s Bode Salas and Grantsville’s Ben Daybell. Telford, who was the medalist two years ago as a sophomore, made seven birdies, one eagle and one bogey during a dominant performance.

Telford is one of three Morgan golfers that finished in the top 10 on Wednesday as Caige Toone and Lance Loughton both shot 2-over 74.

Grantsville’s only other golfer in the Day 1 top 10 after Daybell was Chris Hansen who also shot a 74.

Salas is the defending 3A state medalist, but he has a lot of work to try and close the gap on Telford. He helped his cause with birdies on 17 and 18 on Wednesday, and he’ll need a lot more of that on Thursday.

Class 3A state tournament

Full leaderboard/tee times

At Oquirrh Hills Golf Course

Team scores (top 10 made cut)

1. Morgan, 293

2. Grantsville, 303

3. Juab, 312

4. Carbon, 317

4. Union, 317

6. Richfield, 320

7. Ogden, 324

8. Grand, 343

8. Canyon View, 343

10. Emery, 345

Individual results

64 — Tanner Telford, Morgan

71 — Bode Salas, Carbon; Ben Daybell, Grantsville

72 — Kauner Kay, Juab; Tytan Birchell, Union

74 — Coltin Powell, Ogden; Chris Hansen, Grantsville; Caige Toone, Morgan; Lance Loughton, Morgan; Riggin Boger, South Summit; Hugo Padilla, Layton Christian

76 — Jalal Khan, Juab; Keaton Anderson, Richfield

77 — Weston Bosh, Juab; Decker Dzierzon, Grantsville

78 — Wyatt Toney, Grand

79 — Gage Brower, Richfield; Brady Mecham, Union

80 — Jack Vickers, Canyon View

81 — Boston Rodriguez, Ogden; Kyler Clark, Carbon; Brigham Staley, Grantsville; Jonathan Compton, Morgan; Jordan Hunt, Grantsville