SALT LAKE CITY — Utah singer David Archuleta’s new album “Therapy Sessions” comes out on Wednesday.

“Therapy Sessions” was announced April 27 on Archuleta’s social media accounts and is set to include 10 new songs. The singer called it his “most personal album to date” in the announcement.

“I’ve been excited to share this one with y’all! It’s my most personal album to date and it’s coming out next month. Can’t wait for you to hear my new album #TherapySessions on May 20th!” he wrote.

This will be Archuleta’s ninth studio album. Interestingly, one of his albums, “Forevermore,” was released exclusively in the Philippines in 2012.

Here are our favorite songs from each of his U.S. albums to get you ready for the release.


Album: “David Archuleta” (2008)

How could we not include this song? “Crush” was Archuleta’s first hit after finishing second on “American Idol” Season 7. The runner-up’s self-titled debut album also featured songs like “A Little Too Not Over You” and “Touch My Hand.”

‘Silent Night’

Album: “Christmas from the Heart” (2009)

This gorgeous hymn arrangement from Archuleta’s first holiday album was one he performed with the Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square at its 2010 Christmas concerts. The holiday album also included several other Christmas hymns and classics, along with one original song: “Melodies of Christmas.”

‘My Kind of Perfect’

Album: “The Other Side of Down” (2010)

In this sweet ballad, Archuleta wonders who will be the perfect girl for him. “The Other Side of Down” featured a new batch of fun originals from “Something ‘Bout Love” to “Falling Stars.”

‘Be Still, My Soul’

Album: “Begin” (2012)

This is another beautiful hymn arrangement, from the first album released while Archuleta was serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Chile. “Begin” included a variety of covers, from Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful” to Simon and Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water,” and one original song: “Broken.”

‘Love Don’t Hate’

Album: “No Matter How Far” (2013)

This catchy song is one of several gems on the second album released while Archuleta was serving a mission. “No Matter How Far” features a compilation of new songs, like “Don’t Run Away,” and bonus tracks from previous albums, like “Notice Me.”


Album: “Postcards in the Sky” (2017)

This song from Archuleta’s first post-mission album is an uplifting reminder that “you don’t have to be invincible.” We love the variety on this album, from catchy songs like “Postcards in the Sky” and “Up All Night” to Archuleta’s lovely “Seasons” duet with Madilyn Paige.


View Comments

Album: “Winter in the Air” (2018)

You might recognize this song from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints’ 2014 documentary film “Meet the Mormons.” “Glorious” accompanied a variety of festive songs like “Christmas Every Day” on Archuleta’s second holiday album.

‘OK, All Right’

Album: “Therapy Sessions” (2020)

This upbeat song released early from “Therapy Sessions” has a positive message to take a step back and relax when life gets frustrating. We also like the other two songs we’ve heard from this album so far: “Paralyzed” and “Just Breathe,” which features a tribute video to those providing relief during the coronavirus pandemic.

Join the Conversation
Looking for comments?
Find comments in their new home! Click the buttons at the top or within the article to view them — or use the button below for quick access.