Disney+ has added a full warning ahead of 18 episodes of “The Muppet Show,” which recently debuted all of its original episodes on the streaming service.


Disney released the full run of “The Muppet Show” Friday. The catalog includes five seasons of the show, which was a variety show that featured Kermit the Frog, Miss Piggy, Fozzie Bear, Gonzo and the Swedish Chef.

  • The episodes feature guests stars Steve Martin, Elton John, Liza Minnelli, Alice Cooper, Julie Andrews, Bernadette Peters, Diana Ross, Gladys Knight, Gene Kelly and Mark Hamill.
  • Seasons 4 and 5 have never previously been released on home entertainment, as I wrote for the Deseret News.

The new warning

Disney added a warning before 18 episodes of show. The full warning reads:

  • “This program includes negative depictions and/or mistreatment of people or cultures. These stereotypes were wrong then and are wrong now. Rather than remove this content, we want to acknowledge its harmful impact, learn from it and spark conversation to create a more inclusive future together.
  • “Disney is committed to creating stories with inspirational and aspirational themes that reflect the rich diversity of the human experience around the globe.”


Disney+ has added a content advisory message ahead of some of its movies as the films have received feedback from audiences, as I wrote for the Deseret News. It’s unclear if specific feedback led to them adding the warnings. The 12-second warning appears before some movies to warn people that the film includes negative depictions on cultures and people, according to ComicBook.com.

The warning will appear before the following films:

  • “Aristocats”
  • “Dumbo”
  • “Peter Pan”
  • “Swiss Family Robinson”

Correction: This article previously said the warning was added to all episodes of the show. The warning was only added to 18 episodes of the show.