clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

High school wrestling: Mountain Crest the king of 4A wrestling again

Outstanding semifinal round paves the way for Mountain Crest to claim second 4A title in three years

Mountain Crest celebrates their team title in the 4A high school wrestling state championship at the UCCU Center in Orem on Saturday, Feb. 15, 2020.
Mountain Crest celebrates their team title in the 4A high school wrestling state championship at the UCCU Center in Orem on Saturday, Feb. 15, 2020.
Spenser Heaps, Deseret News

OREM — Mountain Crest backed up its strong opening day to the 4A state tournament on Friday with an even better second day on Saturday.

The Mustangs won seven of their 11 semifinal matches on Saturday morning, and then four of those championships matches in the evening en route to winning a second 4A state championship in three years and seventh in school history.

That outstanding semifinal round helped Mountain Crest lock up the title before the championship matches, where it proceeded to extend the lead, pulling away with 319.5 team points, followed by second-place Uintah with 274.5 points and Bear River in third with 202.5.

“We just had to wrestle relaxed, go out there and have fun,” said Mountain Crest sophomore Luke Schroeder, one of four individual state champs. “Last week we put a pounding on everyone else (at divisionals), so that was the same thing we wanted to do this week.”

Schroeder got things started early for Mountain Crest at 113 pounds with a 10-3 victory, that was followed by a win from freshman Cooper Sanders at 120 pounds with a pin at 3:38.

“They told our lighter weights to go out and do good to help keep the momentum going,” said Sanders, something those lighter weights did all tournament.

That even included 106-pound freshman Easton Evans who advanced to the final where he lost to Bear River’s Trenton Ward, who finished the season 50-1.

After a couple of second-place finishes by Mountain Crest’s Terrell Lee (126) and Gabe Sanders (138) in the middle weights, Brayden Guthrie (182) and Hunter Schroeder (195) helped cap the tournament with a bang, both recording pins in the first round.

Guthrie recorded his pin just 18 seconds into the match.

“A lot of hard work pays off, that’s all I can say really,” said Guthrie, who pinned all four of his opponents at state. “I think we had a pretty good feel how it was going to go. We’ve all worked super hard for it; we kind of deserved it.”

Another key to Mountain Crest’s title was how well they wrestled back in consolation rounds after Saturday semifinals. Two wrestlers came back and placed third, while two more placed fourth.

Runner-up Uintah went 3-1 in its championship matches on Saturday, with Brady Merkley (126), August Harrison (138) and Dylan Swift (170) all winning.

Merkley was a repeat winner for the Utes, while Harrison’s win came in perhaps the most exciting final of the night. Trailing Mountain Crest’s Sanders 6-4 late in the match, Harrison recorded a takedown and then pinned him 33 seconds left in the match for the win.

Desert Hills’ Ryker Boyce also won a second-straight title with his 7-3 win at 145 pounds.

Other individual champs were Pine View’s Riley Helt (132), Hurricane’s Josh Armstrong (152), Bear River’s Maverik Skinner (160), Sky View’s Hunter Larsen (220) and Bear River’s Jeshua Koch (285).

Class 4A

At UCCU Center

Team scores

1. Mountain Crest, 319.5; 2. Uintah, 274.5; 3. Bear River, 202.5; 4. Desert Hills, 195; 5. Canyon View, 104; 6. Pine View, 101; 7. Hurricane, 95.5; 8. Ridgeline, 90.5

Individual results

106 — Championship: Trenton Ward, Bear River def. Easton Evans, Mountain Crest, fall 1:59. 3. Parker Hansen, Tooele; 4. Seth Armstrong, Hurricane; 5. Jaren Marx, Pine View; 6. Daxton Darley, Green Canyon

113 — Championship: Luke Schroeder, Mountain Crest def. Jake Olsen, Canyon View, 10-3. 3. Raiden Harrison, Uintah; 4. Edgar Renteria, Snow Canyon; 5. Luke Iverson, Pine View; 6. Nathaniel Fordham, Desert Hills

120 — Championship: Cooper Sanders, Mountain Crest def. James Shumway, Green Canyon, fall 3:38. 3. Cole Huber, Uintah; 4. Gino Demuzio, Sky View; 5. Mikah Murphy, Hurricane; 6. Austyn Ennis, Cedar

126 — Championship: Brady Merkley, Uintah def. Terrell Lee, Mountain Crest, 6-4. 3. Garett Barney, Canyon View; 4. Korbin Suwyn, Dixie; 5. Jacob Rhoades, Uintah; 6. Adrian Thomas Gualtier, Ben Lomond

132 — Championship: Riley Helt, Pine View def. Dillon Dick, Uintah, 5-2. 3. Gabriel Lake, Canyon View; 4. Kamryn Rees, Bear River; 5. Gunnar Harrison, Uintah; 6. Brock Gutierrez, Juan Diego

138 — Championship: August Harrison, Uintah def. Gabe Sanders, Mountain Crest, fall 5:27. 3. Tristyn Dennett, Hurricane; 4. Kaden White, Snow Canyon; 5; Keagan Boyce, Desert Hills; 6. Cole Lake, Canyon View

145 — Championship: Ryker Boyce, Desert Hills def. Colter Ricks, Ridgeline, 7-3. 3. Jordan Wakefield, Mountain Crest; 4. Koby Smith, Uintah; 5. Cael Wilcox, Bear River; 6. Jace Lang, Snow Canyon

152 — Championship: Joshua Armstrong, Hurricane def. MaQuade Jones, Desert Hills, 12-5. 3. Zack Smith, Mountain Crest; 4. Spencer Wirthlin, Pine View; 5. Easton Winward, Bear River; 6. Cael Smith, Mountain Crest

160 — Championship: Maverik Skinner, Bear River def. Clayton Warr, Hurricane, 9-4. 3. Rhett Gebert, Ridgeline; 4. Wyatt Larsen, Mountain Crest; 5. Daxton Edwards, Snow Canyon; 6. Joe Richardson, Juan Diego

170 — Championship: Dylan Swift, Uintah def. Kaden Kirk, Ridgeline, fall 0:50. 3. Brock Guthrie, Mountain Crest; 4. Cayden Roundy, Desert Hills; 5. Porter Tackett, Bear River; 6. Braydon Allie, Stansbury

182 — Championship: Brayden Guthrie, Mountain Crest def. Gavin Carter, Canyon View, fall 0:18. 3. Tyler Howard, Bear River; 4. Treyton Payne, Cedar; 5. Luis Mejia, Stansbury; 6. Walker Hutchinson, Mountain Crest

195 — Championship: Hunter Schroeder, Mountain Crest def. Gage Hall, Desert Hills, fall 1:28. 3. Kaden Shin, Stansbury; 4. Carson Hansen, Snow Canyon; 5. Cameron Laris, Uintah; 6. Noah Fuailetolo, Desert Hills

220 — Championship: Hunter Larsen, Sky View def. Dawson Bundy, Desert Hills, fall 4:51. 3. David Swarts, Uintah; 4. Sam McMurray, Mountain Crest; 5. Carsen Cooper, Stansbury; 6. Zach Phillips, Bear River

285 — Championship: Jeshua Koch, Bear River def. Peyton Williams, Desert Hills, 8-4. 3. Chance Richins, Desert Hills; 4. Quincy Wildman, Logan; 5. Logan Fraser, Bear River; 6. Payton Calico, Pine View