SALT LAKE CITY — University of Utah golfers Blake Tomlinson and Colton Tanner will play a pair of former Utah State Amateur champs, Dan Horner and Darrin Overson, in one of two semifinal matches Tuesday at the Utah Four-Ball Championship after each team won a pair of matches Monday.

The other semifinal at the Hubbard Golf Course at Hill Air Force Base will pit Jeff Jolley and Kurt Owen against Ryan Brimley and David Jennings.

Tomlinson, who was runner-up at the State Amateur earlier this month, and Tanner won both of their matches Monday 1 up. They defeated Brendan Dennis and Thad Truman in the morning round and John Fox and Zack Neff in the afternoon.

Horner, the 2008 State Am champ and Overson, the 1998 champ, had to come from behind to beat Shane Brady and Jason White in their quarterfinal match.

Jolley and Owen knocked off one of the favored teams, recent State Am winner Mitchell Schow and State Am semifinalist Hayden Christensen 4 and 3 and came back to beat University of Utah golfers Axel Einarsson and Oscar Maxfield 1 up in the afternoon.

Brimley and Jennings defeated Marc Engellenner and Drazen Trkuja 1 up in their quarterfinal match after beating Michael Blackham and Thomas Young.

The semifinals will be played Tuesday morning with the winners meeting in the afternoon finals.

Also Tuesday morning, Guy Child and Kirk Siddens will play Karl Avant and Kurt Jamison in the Senior finals, while Mike Hacker and Bill Probst will face Rob Bachman and Steven Smith in the Super Senior (over 65) finals.

Utah Four-Ball Championships

Hubbard Golf Course

Championship Bracket

Round of 16

Colton Tanner-Blake Tomlinson def. Brendan Dennis-Thad Truman, 1 up

John Fox-Zack Neff  def. Ty Anderson-Devin Tovey 2 up

Shane Brady-Jason White def. Austin Adams-Zack Orton 3 and 1

Dan Horner-Darrin Overson def. Jeff Appelbaum-Denny Job 4 and 3

Axel Einarsson-Oscar Maxfield def.  Tanner Eldredge-Tanner Tregeagle 2 and 1

Jeff Jolley-Kurt Owen def. Mitchell Schow-Hayden Christensen 4 and 3

Ryan Brimley-David Jennings def. Michael Blackham-Thomas Young 2 and 1

Marc Engellenner-Drazen Trkuja def. Javier Barcos-Tristan Mandur 4 and 3


Tanner-Tomlinson def. Fox-Neff 1 up

Horner-Overson def. Brady-White, 19 holes

Jolley-Owen def. Einarson-Maxfield 2 and 1

Brimley-Jennings def. Engellenner-Trkuja 1 up

Senior Bracket


Guy Child-Kirk Siddens def. Jamie Childs-Steve Kirk  5 and 3

Paul Cannon-Mike Holm def. Andy Holder-Richard Toner, 19 holes

Tommy Johnson-Brett Sampson def. Peter Brown-Chuck O’Brien 5 and 3

Karl Avant-Kurt Jamison def. Brigham Gibbs-Jon Wright 2 and 1


Child-Siddens def. Cannon-Holm 3 and 2

Avant-Jamison def. Johnson-Sampson 2 up

Super Senior Bracket

Mike Hacker-Bill Probst def. Richard Dibblee-Tom Jones, 23 holes

Rob Bachman-Steven Smith def. Kurt Bernhisel-Heber Jacobsen 2 and 1