clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

What time do the polls close in every state?

A breakdown of what times to expect results in each state during the 2020 presidential election.

A poll worker applauds a first-time voter who cast a ballot on the last day of early voting, Sunday, Nov. 1, 2020, at a polling place at Columbia University’s Forum in the West Harlem neighborhood of New York.
A poll worker applauds a first-time voter who cast a ballot on the last day of early voting, Sunday, Nov. 1, 2020, at a polling place at Columbia University’s Forum in the West Harlem neighborhood of New York.
Kathy Willens, Associated Press

The 2020 presidential election is upon us, but it’s unlikely we’ll learn all results in the early part of the night.

Most states often report results at different times. Some won’t report full results until days or even weeks later. So if there’s any contested states, the debate about who will win might drift long into mid-November and, if the courts get involved, maybe even December.

But polls will close on Tuesday night at various times across the country. We’ve collected all of the closing times for each of the states and listed them out below for you. Each of the times is broken down by Mountain Time since, you know, that’s where the Deseret News is based.

5 p.m. MT (7 p.m. ET)

  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Virginia

5:30 p.m. MT (7:30 p.m. ET)

  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia

6 p.m. MT (8 p.m. ET)

  • Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee

6:30 p.m. MT (8:30 p.m. ET)

  • Arkansas

7 p.m. MT (9 p.m. ET)

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

8 p.m. MT (10 p.m. ET)

  • Iowa
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Utah

9 p.m. MT (11 p.m. ET)

  • California
  • Idaho
  • Oregon
  • Washington

10 p.m. MT (12 a.m. ET)

  • Hawaii

11 p.m. MT (1 a.m. ET)

  • Alaska