Facebook Twitter

This state is issuing $100 fines if you don’t wear a mask

Connecticut will start issuing $100 fines because of its mask mandate.

SHARE This state is issuing $100 fines if you don’t wear a mask
A student virtually attends class using a tablet on the first day of the 2020-2021 school year at Brunswick’s Lower School in Greenwich, Conn., Tuesday, Sept. 8, 2020.

A student virtually attends class using a tablet on the first day of the 2020-2021 school year at Brunswick’s Lower School in Greenwich, Conn., Tuesday, Sept. 8, 2020.

Associated Press

Connecticut will begin issuing $100 fines to residents who refuse to wear face masks in public, NBC News reports.

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont signed a new order that will begin at midnight Thursday.

Before the order, the state could only issue a misdemeanor to those who ignored the mandate. But residents saw that as a little too harsh, according to Connecticut’s chief operating officer, Josh Geballe.

  • “There wasn’t really much that was being done, because many people viewed (a misdemeanor charge) as excessively harsh for failing to wear a mask if you couldn’t socially distance,” Geballe told the Hartford Courant. “So they asked for this new tool, an infraction that was a bit of a step-down enforcement.”
  • The order gives the state a complete uniform policy for wearing masks.
  • “It’s come up over and over again, to the point where we felt it was an appropriate thing to do,” Geballe said.

According to NBC News, some more fines included in the order:

  • $250 for going to an indoor event with 25 or more people, or an event with more than 100 people.
  • $500 fine for those who organize those big events.

Connecticut adds the policy as its coronavirus numbers begin to climb, according to The Hill. The state previously had below 1% positivity, which has now climbed to 1.5%.

  • The state has had just under 55,000 total coronavirus cases and 4,485 deaths.