Puerto Rico's Senate has approved a bill making Spanish the Caribbean island's official language despite strong opposition from statehood advocates.

The measure was passed by the House last year and now goes to Gov. Rafael Hernandez Colon, who is expected to sign it this month.The bill revokes the Official Languages Act of 1902 that designated both English and Spanish as the languages of the commonwealth government's business. The new law will make Spanish the only official language.

Although the measure has political significance, it is unlikely to have much practical effect. Commonwealth business already is conducted in Spanish, and U.S. government business, including the federal courts here, will continue to be conducted in English.