clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:


Eleven individuals who have made significant contributions in advertising, journalism, photography and the performing arts were spotlighted at the 1991 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Gala Feb. 3 at Lincoln Center's New York State Theatre.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Ralph Lauren for his contribution to making the all-American look an international fashion statement.Designer Isaac Mizrahi was named the Women's Wear Designer of the Year; Roger Forsythe for Perry Ellis (posthumously) became the Men's Wear Designer of the Year; Todd Oldham captured the Perry Ellis Award for exciting new fashion talent.

The award for Accessories Designer of the Year went to Karl Lagerfeld for Chanel.

A special award was presented to Harley-Davidson for bringing motorcycle leather jackets and accessories into the mainstream of fashion. Another special award went to advertiser Marvin Traub for his commitment to make shopping at Blommingdale's a fashion experience.

MaryLou Luther of the Los Angeles Times Syndicate received the Eugenia Sheppard Award for her outstanding journalistic contribution to fashion.

Three women in the performing arts were also honored: Academy Award-winning actress Anjelica Huston, celebrated concert and opera singer Jessye Norman and dancer/choreographer and artistic director Judith Jamison. These women have achieved great success and recognition in their respective careers and have done so with enormous style.

CFDA is a not-for-profit organization whose membership consists of over 160 of America's foremost fashion designers. It was founded in 1962 as a national honorary society of creative leaders in all areas of American Fashion Design.