clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Utah MS Society planning annual Dinner of Champions

Thursday's black-tie gala to raise funds and honor locals

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society Utah State Chapter will host its 27th Annual Dinner of Champions on Thursday at the Little America Hotel.

The annual black-tie gala raises money for National MS Society-funded research and local programs while honoring community leaders and athletes.

This year, the Utah State Chapter will present Bill Marcroft, the radio "voice of the Utes," with the T.K. McCarthy Silver Hope Award for his outstanding contributions to the community.

Other honorees this year:

Jay Gurmankin — Living with Courage. Elected National MS Society Utah State Chapter board of trustees chair.

Julia Klein — Above and Beyond. Klein is a family nurse practitioner who coordinates research and serves on boards and committees that seek to improve the quality of life for those affected by MS.

Jim Laub — Our Man of the Year. Developed Cache Valley Electric into an internationally operating electrical construction firm.

John Morgan — Lifetime Achievement. Co-founded the World Senior Olympic Games in 1987.

Mike Reid — Professional of the Year. Numerous golf honors include winning the Senior PGA Championship in May 2005.

Elaine Michaelis — Sportsperson of the Year. Devoted her life to improve the Brigham Young University volleyball program and its facilities, and volleyball on a national scale.

University of Utah Football Team — Team of the Year. The Utes completed an improbable 12-0 season by winning the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

Andrew Bogut — Co-Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year. Became the first-ever Ute selected No. 1 in the NBA draft.

Alex Smith — Co-Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year. Became Utah's first-ever Heisman Trophy finalist and the No. 1 pick in the NFL draft.

Annabeth Eberle — Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year. Named North Central Regional Gymnast of the Year and was a finalist in the floor exercise at the 2005 NCAA Championships.

Jason Zundel — Male High School Athlete of the Year. Made his mark at Bear River High School in football, basketball and baseball.

Shawnee Slade — Female High School Athlete of the Year. Excelled in track, volleyball and basketball at Taylorsville High School.

Dave Blackwell — In Memoriam. Best remembered for his television, radio and newspaper coverage of the Utah Jazz.