clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

High school wrestling: Box Elder's Brock Hardy wins Walsh Ironman in Ohio

Box Elder's Brock Hardy bested some of the best high school wrestlers in the country when he won the 145-pound division at the Walsh Ironman tournament in Ohio.

Hardy was the second seed and went 5-0 in his matches including a pin in the third period against fifth-seeded Kendall Coleman of Mount Carmel, Illinois. All in all, Hardy navigated a field of 33 wrestlers to make it to the top of the podium.

Hardy survived a stiff test in the semifinals holding off sixth-seed Sam Dover of Saint Edward, Ohio, the host school of the event, 3-2.

Hardy won his first bout by fall, secured a major decision in the second round and then eased to a quarterfinal over Sandro Ramirez of Wauseon, Ohio.

The weight class also featured Quincy Monday, the son of former Olympic gold medalist Kenny Monday, out of Carrboro, North Carolina. Monday was seeded fourth but was defeated 4-3 by Coleman in the ultimate tiebreaker in the quarterfinals. Coleman then defeated Kai Bele of Highland Prep, Ohio, who in the round previous, pinned the top seed Mitch Moore of Graham, Ohio, to make the championship final versus Hardy.

Hardy is a three-time state champion and was a USA Wrestling All-American this past summer in both freestyle and Greco-Roman. Hardy thrives in all three styles and is seeking his fourth state title for the Bee program.

Also competing in this event were two Layton wrestlers. Two-time state champion Terrell Barraclough competed at 126 pounds while returning state champion Tyson Humpherys hit the mats at 132 pounds.

Humpherys went 2-2 in the event while Barraclough was defeated in both of his bouts.

Prep school Blair Academy out of New Jersey easily won the team race over Graham, Ohio, while Wyoming Seminary Prep of Pennsylvania finished third.

Brian Preece is a freelance sportswriter. He was also the head wrestling coach at Provo High School from 1994-2006 and in 2006 Preece was named as the Utah Coach of the Year by the National Wrestling Coaches Association.