Facebook Twitter

NBA Last Two Minute Report says Rudy Gobert fouled Brandon Ingram on last play of Utah Jazz win over New Orleans Pelicans

SHARE NBA Last Two Minute Report says Rudy Gobert fouled Brandon Ingram on last play of Utah Jazz win over New Orleans Pelicans
AP_20007151669264.jpg

New Orleans Pelicans head coach Alvin Gentry, left, talks with official Kane Fitzgerald (5) after an NBA basketball game against the Utah Jazz in New Orleans, Monday, Jan. 6, 2020. (AP Photo/Tyler Kaufman)

AP

NEW ORLEANS — The NBA has spoken. Rudy Gobert fouled Brandon Ingram on the final play of regulation in the Utah Jazz’s 128-126 win over the New Orleans Pelicans.

Every day the NBA releases what is called a Last Two Minute Report, or L2M. The report includes games played on the previous day that were within three points during the last two minutes of the fourth quarter.

The report reviews officiated calls and notable noncalls and gives a ruling on whether the in-game decisions by the officials were correct.

The Jazz-Pelicans game qualifies and was included in Tuesday’s report.

The night of

With a chance to tie the game in the final seconds, Pelicans forward Brandon Ingram drove into the paint and went for a layup. The problem was he was met by Rudy Gobert. The shot didn’t fall, the buzzer sounded and the game was over.

What followed was a bizarre scene with most of the Jazz players leaving the court and the officials reviewing something, although it was not clear at the time what they were reviewing. No foul was called on the play, officials can’t retroactively call fouls after review, and there was no time on the clock.

So for an unorthodox amount of time, with no explanation from the in-arena PA person or anyone else, the end of the game appeared in question.

Officials crew chief Kane Fitzgerald later told a pool reporter there was a review to see if there was a clock malfunction. There was not. He also noted that the officials deemed Gobert’s defense on Ingram as legal.

In short, the play on everyone’s mind today was not even in question, according to Fitzgerald.

In real time the situation was, to say the least, strange.

The reaction

Even after the game ended it didn’t seem like anyone really knew what was going on. Jazz coach Quin Snyder, Gobert, Donovan Mitchell and Bojan Bogdanovic answered questions about the last play as if they thought the officials were reviewing for a foul.

“There was no whistle blown, so by the rule I don’t think they can review it,” Gobert said after the game. “I don’t know what was going on.”

Following the game and the officials’ comments, conversations swirled about whether there was a possible offensive foul on Ingram because he had his hand wrapped around Gobert as he was going up for the shot.

No matter the truth of the play, the strange ending to the game, or speculation by anyone, interest was peaked about what would be on the following day’s L2M.

The report

In Tuesday’s L2M, regarding the play in question, the report reads:

“Gobert (UTA) makes contact with Ingram’s (NOP) arm during his shot attempt.”

The report gives the play the distinction of INC, meaning an incorrect noncall.

The problem with the NBA’s L2M, is that while it is an attempt by the league’s officials to offer transparency and accountability for their work, it ultimately means nothing.

The Jazz won Monday night and no day-after review is going to change that. The Pelicans will most likely be angry about the result of the game compounded with the fact that officials got the call wrong, but in the end it was just another bizarre day in the NBA and everyone moves on.

For the Jazz, attention turns to what’s coming next, a two-game homestand beginning Wednesday against the 10-26 New York Knicks.